Dietician Update

So yesterday I headed off to the Dietician. 

I guess I wasn’t really expecting too much, cause after all I must be the only fat chick who thinks she already knows everything there is to know about healthy eating and loosing weight! LOL!  I mean I’ve tried all the diets so I know it all.  Also she was recommended by Dr Sh%t for Brains and well that left me with some doubts about how good she might be.  But I was more than pleasantly surprised.  She was great.  She spent over an hour with me in total and started by explaining to be what my blood test results mean and how my body had likely come to be in this state along with all the chemistry of how it’s supposed to work.

First off she said that my blood test results showed definitely have something called Metabolic Syndrome and strongly suggest I do have PCOS, but she was very quick to say we can mange this with diet and it shouldn’t be a problem.  Then she proceeded to turn everything I thought I knew about healthy eating on it’s head, it turns out I probably put my body in this state about eight years ago when I gave up eating fat!  She said I don’t eat enough protein or fats and as a results to fill myself up I eat too much starch.  She has given me no quantity guidelines and said to simply eat until I’m full.  I explained I was made without an ‘Off Switch’ and she said that this too will rectify once my hormones are back in balance.  She specified that my new eating plan designed to reduce the symptoms of PCOS and improve my egg quality.  She said I shouldn’t expect to loose much, if any weight in the next three months, but we will get my body working properly and then she says the weight should come off quite easily.  I’ll believe that when I see it!

So today is day 1 and so far I’ve not been hungry – which is always my worst nightmare, I really am a menace when I’m hungry.  While I don’t mind not loosing any more weight for now (so long as I am in peak condition for baby making), I really just hope I don’t put any weight on.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Diet, Infertility, PCOS, TTC and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dietician Update

  1. Lesley says:

    She sounds lovely! Can she not do your fertility stuff too, seems like she’d be better than your ex-FS 🙂

    Can you bring your diet on Thursday woudl love to see what it includes? I get my eatign plan tomorrow so I’ll brign that and we can compare.

    P.S. Got the 4th Vampire book for you.
    P.P.S Stop drooling…

  2. teejay says:

    I’d love to know what she has suggested you eat to not be hungry AND improve egg quality…I’d like to try it. Glad you had a good appointment. Probably nice after dealing with your FS lately. 🙂

  3. AmandaMqn says:

    I have PCOS and the eating right part has been a struggle for me. I love me some bread and pasta! I bought a ton of books on PCOS when I found out and every single one said that the right diet was key to helping alleviate symptoms. ugh, I hate diets! lol

    Glad to see the new food plan is working so well!

  4. KK says:

    I’m also intrigued as to what she recommended to improve egg quality with PCOS.

    Bring hungry makes me a total witch – glad you are avoiding that pitfall so far.

Leave a Reply

