Girl Friends

What a fab weekend, despite the gloomy weather in Cape Town.  In fact after a wonderful weather and heat at the start of last week the constant drizzle was quite nice.  It reminded me of living in London, but I also know that summer is coming back soon, so not depressing like London at all.

How trite talking about the weather, I mean honestly!

You see this is what happens when you don’t have a melt down at the weekend.  It seems I have settled back into ‘ME’ mode again and the weird hormonal creature that has kept rearing her ugly head the last few weeks has gone into hibernation.  I think it might just have something to do with the laughter on Thursday night again at book club.  It seems every month we end a little later, this time it was almost midnight when someone realised that it was probably time to go home.

I’ve never really been much of a girlie girl, on a whole host of levels.  I don’t do my nails, or my hair, or bother with make-up or those kinds of girlie things.  I have a theory on this, but that’s for another day.  I’ve also never really had girl-friends.  I mean I was at an all-girls school most of my schooling, but other than when I had no choice, I’ve mostly had male friends, other than my BFF who is more like a sister really anyway.  BUT I never knew what I was missing.

Girl-friends are great!  It turns out I do have something in common with girls and I can make conversation with them and they aren’t ALL bitchy.  There’s a whole level of conversation you can have with a girl-friend that I would never get into with a guy.  And girl-friends make you laugh!  So YAH for infertility as it has brought some girl-friends.  Well probably not yah for IF but at least there is a bright side.

So Monday update on my distraction list:

  • Made great progress on my secret project making a batch of little “somethings”. I’m quite chuffed with them. Also inspired to broaden my horizons on this and try different versions.
  • All the rain has the garden doing well, but the rosemary is definitely dying.
  • I watched ‘Twilight’ last night.  So disappointing after the book.  Why is it that movie makers can’t capture what my imagination does when I read a book?

Falling behind with:

  • Need to finish the blinds for the patio, I wish I could get out of this one, too much like hard work, but the one that is finished has me convinced that it will be worth while
  • Haven’t watched TV in a week and we had to actually delete some of the recordings off of PVR to ensure there was still space for Private Practice and Brothers and Sisters etc
  • Make the table cloth
  • Card making course on Saturday – really looking forward to trying my hand at something else new!
  • Thinking of just giving up on Yoga until next year?!?
  • Need to get stuff for that parcel for my god-daughter
About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Infertility, Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Girl Friends

  1. teejay says:

    You know, I’ve never been much of a girly girl either but the older I get the more feminine I get. It’s strange. I still have a hard time with girl-friends as it seems the ones I encounter in my life, still have the Jr. High mentality and that sucks. I’m too old to deal with the drama. However, I’m very happy for you that you have made some new friends…it must feel great!

  2. KK says:

    Glad you had a fabulous weekend. I don’t know what I’d do without my girlfriends…other than drive my husband crazy with some of the stupid things I just need to discuss (celebrity gossip, for starters)!

  3. AmandaMqn says:

    Sorry for the gloomy weather but yay for a fab weekend anyway! I never had many girlfriends either, drama annoys the crap out of me! But the past few years, I’ve met some incredible women that are keeping me sane through infertility.

    Nominated you for an award on my blog! Because you’re awesome = )

Leave a Reply

