The Life we Dream of…

As we are growing up we dream of exotic places and sometimes when we get all grown up we are lucky enough to go there. 

Mexico was that magical place in my mind and six years ago (I can’t believe it is almost exactly six years ago already!) Hopelessly and I took a year off and went travelling.  On the Day of the Dead we arrived in Mexico City and I knew that my dreams as a little girl were all true.  Mexico was for me the most magical of places.  I could go on and on and on about how magical and tell stories about our experiences that I will carry with me for the rest of my life and my poor grand-kids will hear over and over and over again.  And maybe if you’re lucky enough I’ll tell some of those stories here…

But for today, I received an email from my Dad with a little story I’ve received before, but somehow today it seems so poignant, so here it is:

 A boat docked in a tiny Mexican fishing village. (I can see this village in my mind, we spent three days here with Hopelessly helping to drag in the fishing boats in the afternoon!)

A tourist complimented the local fishermen on the quality of their fish and asked how long it took him to catch them. 
Fishermen

“Not very long.” they answered in unison. 

“Why didn’t you stay out longer and catch more?” 

The fishermen explained that their small catches were sufficient to meet their needs and those of their families. 

“But what do you do with the rest of your time?” 

Drinking Siesta Singing
“We sleep late, fish a little, play with our children, and take siestas with our wives. In the evenings, we go into the village to see our friends, have a few drinks, play the guitar, and sing a few songs. We have a full life.” 

The tourist interrupted, “I have an MBA from Harvard and I can help you! You should start by fishing longer every day.  You can then sell the extra fish you catch. With the extra revenue, you can buy a bigger boat.” 

“And after that?” 

“With the extra money the larger boat will bring, you can buy a second one and a third one and so on until you have an entire fleet of trawlers. Instead of selling your fish to a middle man, you can then negotiate directly with the processing plants and maybe even open your own plant.  You can then leave this little village and move to Mexico City, Los Angeles, or even New York City!  From there you can direct your huge new enterprise.” 

“How long would that take?” 

“Twenty, perhaps twenty-five years.” replied the tourist. 

“And after that?” 

“Afterwards? Well my friend, that’s when it gets really interesting,”  answered the tourist, laughing, “When your business gets really big, you can start buying and selling stocks and make millions!” 

“Millions? Really? And after that?” asked the fishermen. 

“After that you’ll be able to retire, live in a tiny village near the coast, sleep late, play with your children, catch a few fish, take a siesta with your wife and spend your evenings drinking and enjoying your friends.” 

“We’re doing that NOW “.

And the moral of the story is:

Know where you’re going in life… you may already be there!

A beautiful beach on the Yucatan Peninsula of Mexico, Carribean Coast. We spent two weeks camped here over Christmas and New Year 2003! It sums it all up for me:

Heaven on Earth

Our little Piece of Paradise in Mexico

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Dreams, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Life we Dream of…

  1. Cam says:

    Lovely story!

    We went to Mexico this year and LOVED it! How is that water!!!!! This pic reminds me of many an afternoon lazing under the palm trees and swimming in the azure waters – bliss x

  2. mommyinwaiting says:

    Oh those waters are amazing. I love this photo especially because what you can’t really see is the sign on the tree next to the hammock which reads ‘officina’ (office in Spanish!) I wish this was my office!

Leave a Reply

