Always a Bridesmaid… Never a Bride

I’m really hoping that saying doesn’t translate for “Always a God-Mother, Never a Mother”.

Yesterday afternoon my SIL asked Hopelessly and I if we would please be guardians for her little girl if anything were to happen to her and her hubby. I was so emotional that I couldn’t really answer her properly, but without doubt the answer is a resounding “Of Course!!!”

Hopelessly and I are now the proud god-parents of three wonderful kids. One boy who is nine and two girls, one eight weeks old and one 13 weeks old!

I think there is no greater honour than someone asking you to be a god-parent. The responsibility of knowing that if something happens to them they are entrusting you to bring up their child as though it were your own. Trusting you to provide for it, teach it right from wrong and give it all the love its parents would if they were around. I am so flattered and thrilled. I’ve decided to take this as a sign that other people obviously think I am up to being a mom and will be good at it.

So now to make it a reality for us. I don’t always want to be a stand-in mom, I want to be the real thing for my own baby!

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility, TTC and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Always a Bridesmaid… Never a Bride

  1. Lesley says:

    I hope it all adds up to good baby karma. You know what you put out will comes back three times (although sometimes I hope that’s not true, as I had a huge disgusting e-mail argument with my dietician.)
    Whenm I hear about someone doing a cycle or having a baby even if I don’t know them I dash out and get a little something, hoping that maybe the universe will get the message.

    How’s vamp book 4 coming along hmmm?

Leave a Reply

