One of the (Many) things I can’t wait for

My sister is nearly 16 years younger than me. She has given me an opportunity to ‘practice’ some motherly stuff over the years. Being 16 when she was tiny, I loved walking around the shopping centers pushing her pram and laughing at the looks I would get from people passing by (who obviously thought I was a VERY young mother). I got to change endless nappies, bath her, feed her and play with her. And as she has grown up, I’ve gotten to practice giving advice, balanced and sensible (I like to think) yet not from her parents. You know how teenagers are they would rather listen to anyone other than their own parent… or was that just me?!?

My Dad got my sister for hos 40th birthday – literally she was born on his birthday! My poor dad would really still love to live in the 50s. He loves the music (read Elvis), he loves the fashions (read long flowing skirts on women), loves the hairstyles (read girls with long hair in pig-tails) and he loves the way he likes to remember the women (read good girls!). Lucky (in some ways) for me, my folks got divorced when I was just 5 years old, so as a teenager, I wasn’t too subjected to his antiquated beliefs and ideals. My poor sister on the other hand… all I can say is shame!

She is now 19 and still taking grief from my Dad. He loves nagging her and he drives her insane. Te net result is that she (and my brother) hides things from my Dad. She has the cutest tattoos which my dad knows nothing about, recently she started dating a new guy and has worked hard to keep my Dad from knowing too much about him. Unfortunately for her my Dad popped around to her house this morning and ‘caught’ the new guy sleeping over and my Step-Mom wasn’t home. My dad went off on one and is now not at all happy with my sister.

Now I’m not going to get too caught up in what’s right and wrong, personally I don’t like tattoos. But I can’t wait for Hopelessly and I to be figuring out the best way to handle a teenager. To be trying to walk the line between being permissive enough that your kids never hide things from you, but still giving them a good sense of what is right and wrong and some good guidelines on how to make decisions from themselves, which are sensible and aren’t going to do them any damage in the long run.

I just hope we aren’t too old when our turn finally comes, that we aren’t caught up in some antiquated ideas of our own.

Anyway only six more hours and they arrive. I can’t wait to see my family!

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility, TTC and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One of the (Many) things I can’t wait for

  1. ttcnot2easy says:

    I had to have a little chuckle when reading this – I was a daddy’s girl in a big way (still am!), and it was always my mom making excuses on my behalf. Shame, once when I was 13, I told my dad (jokingly!) that I was pregnant.. well, his face was priceless and *I* thought it was funny! Oh, the irony….
    Oh, and your dad is RIGHT to be a fan of Elvis!! I was named after his daughter, I STILL love him, I STILL celebrate his birthday on 08 Jan and his ‘death’ (lol!) on 16 Aug and I STILL listen to his Xmas Carols at this time of year. Elvis is KING! (you should take your dad to the barnyard when Shaky performs – it’s brilliant and I usually hang off the stage like s silly groupie…)

Leave a Reply

