The Best Christmas Present Ever!

So Sunday night the first of the family arrived, Mom, Dad and Sister. And suddenly I am so distracted that I don’t seem to have time to feel sorry for myself. Boy does my man know just what I need to feel all better! You see it was all his idea to bring my family to town for Christmas and their idea to stay for three weeks. And while I have been quite excited, I’ve had my reservations on a whole host of levels… my mom and I have our ongoing and never ending issues, my dad is great but really intense, three weeks is a VERY long time with my mom, I didn’t want to bring everyone down with me over Christmas.

Let me start with my Sister, as I mentioned on Sunday my Sister is much younger than me. She is the most awesome lovable and great sister ever. She pretends that she’s all prickly and isn’t loving, but that’s really not at all what I have experienced. She’s affectionate and kind and caring and likes to portray this tough outer layer, but I just know it’s not really true. Because of our age difference we never got to spend much time together, I was at boarding school when she was born, I went away to University and then I moved to the UK. So in some ways it seems as though we never really got to know each other until the last couple of years and somewhere since she was the most beautiful baby I have ever laid eyes on and now she turned into a beautiful person. Not just physically beautiful but stunning on the inside! So yesterday when we couldn’t decide what to do she said she felt like baking. So while the folks napped and Hopelessly fixed my laptop her and I spent some quality time in the kitchen making very delicious Christmas biscuits. Now I understand how other women feel about their sisters. I don’t think I ever got it until yesterday. There is such an awesome camaraderie about two women working side by side in the kitchen, laughing, joking and just being together. Maybe because of my relationship with my mother I’ve just never known this! WOW that’s all I can say. My sister gave me the best present ever by giving me that day to remember and carry with me always.

My Dad is sappy and sentimental and I adore him. I am totally and utterly a Daddy’s girl, no doubts about it. So despite going to bed after 2am on Monday morning when I heard my Dad up and about just before 6am yesterday, I got up to go spend some quality time with him. He and I chatted about all sorts, politics, the country, hope, the family and how awesome both my brother and sister are and how he really doesn’t have to stress about them. And then he gave me his Christmas pressie. He said to me that he thinks I am awesome too. That while the whole family really does love each other I am the glue that keeps everyone together. Wow just thinking about what that meant to me now as I write it brings the tears back to my eyes. Sometimes it really is just fabulous to see yourself through the eyes of those that love you.

And my hubby. Hopelessly you gave me the best ever pressie by making these two presents possible. I love you always… Oh and thanks for putting up with my family for three whole weeks while I get to escape the mayhem by going to work.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Best Christmas Present Ever!

  1. ttcnot2easy says:

    This is a lovely post! I have 2 older brothers and growing up, always wished for a sister. But now – being a daddy’s girl too – I’m happy not have to share him 😉

    I hope that you have a WONDERFUL Christmas with your family – it’s such a special time!

    x

  2. bratty says:

    You gotta love family…as mad as they are at times, they somehow connect with you on a level no-one else can. I have two sisters who are much older than me …and I love them to bits. I love family

  3. KK says:

    I am so glad you are having a great time with your family! My sister is 7 years younger than me and on top of that for the last few years I lived at home I was more of a parent than a sibling to her because of our parents’ separation/divorce. It is only now that we are finally becoming close — at 30 and 23. I am really looking forward to seeing her next week!

    Merry Christmas!

  4. Pingback: I’m Not Ready to Make Nice « Mommy-in-Waiting's Blog

Leave a Reply

