Welcome to 2010

Welcome to 2010! As I stood on the diving board of 2009 looking to dive into 2010 I was so convinced that 2010 would be different for us. The waters of 2010 looked full of hope and (hopefully) fulfilled dreams. But having dived in and woken up on New Year’s day I realised that all that had changed is that another day has passed and the waters of 2010 were just as cold and scary as 2009. And I realised that actually some random change in the name we give time isn’t going to make things easier, only I can do that!

I decided that the new year is the perfect time to look back and look forward. I thought I’d take the time to and opportunity to pause, reflect and create closure before focusing on the year ahead. I’m not a believer in the New Year’s resolution, I guess I’ve spent too many years saying this year I will… loose weight and keep it off… stop swearing…. Go away at least once a month… F&ck that! So I didn’t have any specific goals going into 2009, but I did achieve some really great things:
• I lost close on 20kgs! Okay, I put a little on over the festive season, but I am still starting 2010 nearly 17kgs down on 2009!
• I made some amazing new friends in what at times seems to have been the hardest of circumstances.
• My marriage goes from strength to strength despite the toughest year we have faced together and he is still my very best friend. Add to that, believe it or not our sex life is better that it’s ever been, except maybe in those first few weeks!
• I tried my hand at some new hobbies and while I don’t think I’ve found anything I’m brilliant at, I’ve definitely been extended out of my comfort zone and had some fun while I was at it.

So 2009 was the year we decided we wanted to grow our family and that never happened. I think if I’m honest I never thought in my wildest dreams it would happen for us in the first year we were trying. So no hopes have been dashed, in fact we didn’t really believe we would be able to have our own biological kids anyway, so what we got out of 11 months of trying was some hope that maybe, just maybe it can happen for us. But the reality we face at the start of the year is at least another 6-9 months of treatment before we ever ‘really’ trying. So chances are 2010 won’t be the year on this either, but fingers crossed, maybe I can be pregnant by the end of the year.

Last night on telly Oprah had a special feature on Christmas at the White House and I was inspired to a new traditions I want to build for our kids.

The White House Tree

The first is the main White House Christmas (the one in the East Room) this year was decorated with ornaments decorated by people from around the country. They sent out 800 blank ornament globes left over from previous White House holidays to 60 local community groups throughout the U. S. These groups decorated the globes with tributes to favourite local landmarks. It was great, every decoration was totally unique and represented a part of the country and the people that make up the nation. Obviously having made some decorations this year I can see the start of something here. I want to make (at least) one new decoration each year. It can either be a completely new decoration or a re-decoration of an old one. Even better if the decoration represents something from the year just gone, a special holiday, a dream or an experience. That way each year when we put up the tree we can reflect on the special memories from years that have gone before.

Anyway, I guess that officially concludes the festive season. Welcome to 2010 everyone and I wish with all my heart that we all receive a blessing this year of a little angel to hold in our arms.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Diet, Dreams, fertility Treatment, Friendship, Infertility, Male Factor Infertility, TTC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome to 2010

  1. AmandaMqn says:

    Such a wonderful post, you hit the nail on the head for me. 2010 won’t welcome a baby for us either but we sure are hopeful it’ll end in a pregnancy.

    Here’s to 2010 being a great year!

  2. Sunshine says:

    For an infertile, you sound incredibily upbeat! Please keep it up, ok? We need those like yourself.

    Here from Creme
    Sunshine (aka the oppoiste of your blog!) 🙂

    Marisa

  3. Tam says:

    I truly hope that 2010 brings you your baby. I know the feeling, I’ve spent 5 new years hoping for the same thing and this year, I just don’t have the strength to hope that this year will be different.

    I agree, keep up the upbeat attitude, it’s important to try and not let this change you too much.

  4. Pingback: 2009 in Summary « Mommy-in-Waiting's Blog

Leave a Reply

