I’m Not Ready to Make Nice

I always have song in my head, sometimes it’s just a song I’ve heard recently, or triggered by something someone has said. But then sometimes it’s seems to be a song is talking to me, giving me a message. We’ve had my family staying with us over the festive season and my Mom and Dad are still with us for another two days (yes I am counting). I’ve already told you how special my dad is and some of the issues I have with my mom, but yesterday brought it all out AGAIN.

Hopelessly took my Dad, FIL, BIL and his best friend (Scary Hairy) to the cricket and I took a day’s leave to spend with my Mom. Figured we could do girlie things and maybe it would be good for us to spend some time alone together, maybe start to get beyond the past. Hmmm… The days of fighting and arguing and ugliness seemt o be behind us, but now we can’t seem to make any conversation at all. I mean we went shopping and then for lunch and we were like one of those couples who sit opposite each other and look anywhere but at each other and say nothing to each other, except, ‘hmm my food is great, how is yours?’

Anyway the one thing I really wanted to get out of her I got.

My mom had a hysterectomy at the age of 30, told me she had cancer, it was invasive and was going to kill her if she didn’t have the op. I was 13 and terrified. My mom is a total hypochondriac and has had almost every illness that exists. A couple of years ago I was chatting to my Dad about her illnesses and the fact that with her medical aid was probably so expensive because of her medical history he said ‘what history’, so I said ‘well all the cancer’ (she also told me she had a cancerous lump in her breast which had to be removed (actually that happened twice)). My Dad frowned and said what cancer, I’ve never heard of your mom having cancer. So ever since I’ve been wondering. And obviously with TTC I have been worried that she had something which may have been genetic and passed on to me that would just complicate our journey even more. So I took the opportunity to ask over lunch yesterday why she had a hysterectomy so young and she said she had a fibrous uterus and so had it removed.

STUPID BITCH!

What kind of sick woman scares the crap out of her child aged 13 by saying she is dying, and then does it again when I was 19, then again when I was 23! And so that’s why this song is going around and around in my head this morning and I’m not ready to make nice!

Forgive, sounds good

I don’t think so, I mean I don’t want to carry all this anger around with me for the rest of my life and it sucks feeling the way I do about my mother

Forget, I’m not sure I could

I know I can’t forget, it seems that everytime I think enough time has passed for us to get beyond all the things that have gone before, something else comes up to remind me, another story, another occassion

They say time heals everything

How much time?

But I’m still waiting

I’m through with doubt
There’s nothing left for me to figure out

I used to think that I was the problem, that I needed to make peace with our relationship, that I was causing the history to live between us like some kind of nasty ghost.

I’ve paid a price

A childhood which brought me up thinking I was terrible, a horrible person, I hated myself, only the love of Hopelessly has taught me that actually there is something to love.

And I’ll keep paying

I’ll probably always carry the guilt with me, I’ll probably be wracked by terrible guilt when she dies for not being a better daughter, for not forgiving and forgetting and letting us have the kind of relationship that I hear other people have with their mothers.

I’m not ready to make nice

I don’t want to pretend that everything is great, that we LIKE each other and I WON’T say that I’ll miss her when she’s gone.

I’m not ready to back down

I’m always the one does the crawling back and trying again.

I’m still mad as hell and
I don’t have time to go round and round and round

Goodness where on earth did all this anger come from!

It’s too late to make it right
I probably wouldn’t if I could
‘Cause I’m mad as hell
Can’t bring myself to do what it is you think I should

Okay, that’s enough I’m beginning to sound like one of those high maintenance slightly psychotic women. It’s out my system now.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in family, Infertility, TTC and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m Not Ready to Make Nice

  1. dee says:

    Its good to get this off your chest. Your mom lying to you when you were younger is just not on and if you have the strength I would confront her about it, then maybe you can forgive her? Sorry, it sounds like you having a hard time. xxx

  2. Bratty says:

    Hopeful…I absolutely love that song. It is the kind of song that you can sing on the top of your voice and feel good.
    Your Mom sounds like she has her own issues to deal with. Although, it is difficult to understand why she lied to you as a child, she probably did not think of the long standing consequences of her action.
    Instead of feeling angry, you should pity her…..she might have been a different person is she had the love that you and Hopeless have….love is the most powerful emotion for healing. You now have what she never did

  3. Mash says:

    Wow! Did you ask her why she told you it was cancerous? I must say, my mom also had a hysterectomy because of fibroids, she was in her early 30’s too. And they told her that without the hysterectomy she could end up getting cancer. So maybe it was just an extreme exaggeration on your mom’s part?

  4. rainingblossoms says:

    My goodness. It certainly sounds like she’s a hard woman to have a healthy relationship with. I am so sorry that she told you all of those lies…they must have been very scary. I remember when my mom told me she had cancer, I nearly fainted…but to have that happen again and again…oh, I am so sorry.

  5. Alchemist says:

    Babes, your mom sounds JUST like mine. You have to read a book called “When will i be good enough” – not sure who the author is but its about narcassistics mothers and how the daughters reacted to them. It was such an eyeopener and helped me heal a lot….

    xxx

Leave a Reply

