There’s a shop on the way to work…

Early last year my BFF sent me an email all about the cot thing she had bought for her baby (it was still in her tummy and we didn’t know yet that she was going to be my beautiful god-daughter). It is one of those baby hammock’s called a Nature’s Nest and she was going on about how it would help her baby to sleep better and on and on, so I went and looked it up and started fantasizing about when I get pregnant and can buy these things. 

Then oneday on the way to work, I passed a shop with one of these in the window and I yearned to go in and actually have a look at it and see if it would be appropriate for our baby, if it was stable enough, pretty enough and would actually make baby sleep better.  Now obviously being an infertile I’ve never actually been in the shop and the shop isn’t actually a baby shop anyway just a furniture place and they too the crib out the window probably eight months ago.

But still almost every morning on my way to work, I drive passed this shop and think of my baby.  Some days it makes me excited to think about the adventure we are embarking on, the exciting decisions we will have to make and the awesomeness of what we are planning.  And then some days (like today) just so unbearably sad that I can’t go in there yet, that it’s not my turn yet to choose prams, cots, car seats.  That it’s too early to start making the mobile for over the cot.  Too early to choose a theme for the nursery.  In fact it’s even too early to bother with vitamins!

I bet when I finally go into the shop they won’t have any cots never mind the baby hammock I so long to look at.  But every day I yearn to stop in and just look…

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Dreams, Male Factor Infertility, TTC and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s a shop on the way to work…

  1. Bratty says:

    It is hard to imagine but not dream. When I was with Ex…I was convinced that our baby would come soon. I collected two full bookshelves of children books for our LO. I have just donated (10years later) to charity.
    My B and I have already chosen names and nursery themes…all we need is the baby…smile..(yupp, we are nutty)

  2. Elisabeth says:

    Hello!

    My name is Elisabeth, and I am an infertility / repeated pregnancy loss “veteran”. You can read a little bit about me and my experiences in my blog: drhousewife.blogspot.com . I am completing a PhD in Counseling Psychology, and my dissertation is focused upon the impact of infertility on marriage. I believe strongly that there is a need for better support services for men and women who are undergoing IF diagnosis and treatment, and my hope is that this study will aid in the development of such services.

    I am contacting you after stumbling across your blog. I am recruiting participants for my study, and wanted to invite you and your husband to take part. All that would be involved would be the completion of an online survey, that would take approximately 20 minutes. All couples who complete the surveys will receive a voucher good for a pair of free movie tickets at a Regal Cinemas.

    Please let me know if you are interested by emailing me at UTInfertilityResearch@gmail.com .

    Best,
    Elisabeth

Leave a Reply

