Don’t Leave it too Long, Working Too Hard and Earning Too Much Money!

WTF!!! Firstly I didn’t know you could EVER earn too much money – really – too much?!?

You see Hopelessly and I support my folks. They aren’t married (divorced 30 years ago), but somehow despite going completely different routes have both ended up in a situation where they can’t afford to support themselves. My mom has been in this place for oh around seven years now – to one extent or another. For the last year it has reached what seems to be a permanent state of us pretty much paying for almost everything, we bought her a little flat and pay the mortgage, the levy’s, the electricity, the water. We pay her medical aid. My Dad’s business has gone from bad to worse to worst in the last year and about eight months ago eventually reached a point where he can’t cover any of his costs. He is doing three jobs and has a small income now from one of them (the rest only pay commission and business is worse than bad), but still it means we are picking up the tab. Actually with my Dad it’s a loan. You see he will be getting money out of one of his pensions at the end of February and intends to use this money to pay us back what we have paid for. But basically he has used up all of the soon to come pension money and won’t take any more money from us, cause he doesn’t know how he will pay it back. Last night it really struck home that we haven’t given my Dad any money this month and while it’s meant we got through the month without drawing anything out of our mortgage (bond) I have no idea whether he has paid his bills or if he even can.

So this morning I gave him a call to find out what is going on and sort out his bills. He was with one of his best friends, whose daughter gave birth over the weekend to her second baby. So my Dad handed the phone over so I could congratulate his friend. And his response was “I’m looking forward to hearing this news from you soon. Don’t leave it too long, working too hard and earning too much!” Well I was so stumped he had to ask if I was still on the line.

I probably have waited longer than I should have, but I’m hoping like hell, it’s not TOO long. And I do work TOO hard, but I’m paid by the hour and working hard is the only way to pay the bills, our, my mother’s and my father’s! And as for TOO much money, I wish. I wish we could have afforded to go away last weekend like we had planned, I wish we could afford a holiday without feeling selfish for taking one because it will mean someone’s bills don’t get paid! People are so stupid, they have no idea what they are talking about and yet they can’t help themselves.

Anyway today’s post was going to be all about the absolutely amazing weekend Hopelessly and I did manage to have. I wanted to tell you all about the amazing drive on Saturday up the West Coast to Yzerfontein to have a delicious lunch with ice cold white wine overlooking the beach. And the romantic walk we took along the beach. I was going to tell you about the 4×4 club picnic yesterday and the ice-cream on the beach and the beautiful tiny naked blond boys playing in the waves that had me dreaming about our babies, but instead I let this stupid comment take over. Guess I’m not quite winning the battle against complaining am I?

PS. And my Dad’s friend’s daughter named her baby using one of our names. No that we have A NAME as such, and she didn’t know it was our name, in fact I probably haven’t spoken to her since before Hopelessly and I even got married, but still it stings. Silly isn’t it!

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Dreams, family, Infertility, Male Factor Infertility, Romance, TTC and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t Leave it too Long, Working Too Hard and Earning Too Much Money!

  1. ttcnot2easy says:

    I’m NOT going to comment on Mr Insensitive’s comment – but rather say that I’m so pleased that you had a lovely weekend!! Yzies is wonderful – although we haven’t been there in a short while.

    Take care! And Happy BDay for tomorrow 🙂

  2. sophie says:

    Just wanted to cheer you and your DH on, along the curvy and long road of daily injections and uncertainity.
    When is your next appointment ?
    Thinking you.

  3. Bratty says:

    I look after my Mom…actually she lives with us…so I understand the “parent thing”..difference is I am so emotionally dependant on Mom, I would simple die if she left (she is 71 yrs old).

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend…wishing you many more

    Don’t work too hard…(smile..had to say that)

Leave a Reply

