Who’s Profile is it Anyway

Last night was date night and Hopelessly and I went off to see “Did You Hear About the Morgans”.  Really good for a laugh.  If you want to see the movie look away from the spoiler and dash straight to the next paragraph.  Well it was great right up to the last minute that is.  So the couple have been battling infertility and end up separating (I won’t tell the whole story), but at their happy ending they appear with their beautiful adopted Chinese baby and lo and behold… she is pregnant!  I mean they just couldn’t resist the “just adopt and you will get pregnant”!  For those of you who read Sharon at Mindful Meandering you will have heard the hurt and anger in her posts on this topic.  I simply cannot believe that people honestly think that adopting a baby is a perfect infertility cure!

Anyway, it seems today I am in the Anger stage so I have something else to rant about… Facebook this time.

Now I totally get how a parent is obsessed with their child.  Hell I am obsessed with just trying to make one, so I get it, trust me I do!  But why do people put a photo of their baby as their profile picture on Facebook.  Do they know that their baby’s photo is next to their name.  Don’t they worry about their own sense of who they are?  Or confused sense of self for their child?  Or maybe I don’t get it???  I think if you want to brag about how beautiful your child is (and who doesn’t think their baby is the best looking, most clever and special baby in the world) well then put an album on Facebook.  Or put a photo of you and your baby as your profile picture or hell, why not just create a profile for your baby, where your friends and family can choose to be friends with your child.  You can post your scans, their photos, and their status on the consistency of their poo.  Personally I think this is the way to go.  Then those that aren’t obsessed with your child can avoid the incessant bombardment of all things baby!

Just an idea.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility, Male Factor Infertility, TTC and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Who’s Profile is it Anyway

  1. Mash says:

    I’m so totally in agreement with this one. I find it completely odd. And there’s a really funny skit on it on http://theoatmeal.com/comics/facebook_suck
    how to suck at facebook. It had me in fits of laughter.

    I will never post my scans or my baby as my profile. I have my own identity and my child will be afforded the same dignity 🙂

  2. dee says:

    I cannot agree with you more on the FB profile thing. It grates my top nerve when people do that, or even a picture of a cartoon character or, as I saw the other day a book cover. Yes, great you love that book or cartoon but ITS NOT YOU!! The baby pics grate me more (obviously). A high school friend contacted me and had a baby pic as her profile pic and I just simply ignored because I dont need any more updates of “xx is so clever, she just did a poo”.

  3. Oops…I better change my profile pic quickly!!!!

  4. Bratty says:

    Haaahhaa..I know you are having a rant…but that was just too funny. Thanks for the laugh…smile

  5. Bratty says:

    PS…by the way…if you ever find me on facebook..I have a real ARB picture of a woman I found on the internet…..I am in total disguise on FB….sneaky

  6. I totally agree. I have pictures of my son on FB, but my profile pic has always just been me!

Leave a Reply

