Nesting

I just don’t think there is any other term for what we are doing at the moment. 

A few months ago Hopelessly and I got a bee in our bonnets that we should sell our house and move closer to the beach.  We had this dream of finally getting dogs (and eventually a baby of course) and being able to walk to the beach with the kids and the dogs.  So we went and viewed a few houses and even had a valuation done on our house to see if we could afford the move.  At the time of all this I kept saying to Hopelessly that it doesn’t make any sense my drive to have a bigger house and to move and he just said to me “it makes perfect sense, you are nesting”

I just looked it up and it seems I can’t be nesting as Wikipedia explains that the nesting instinct refers to an instinct or urge in pregnant animals to prepare a home for the upcoming newborn(s).”  And clearly I am NOT pregnant.

But since we realised that we can’t afford to move to the sea just yet we have been fixing up our house.  It started as a ‘let’s sort out all those niggly things that have been bothering us and driving us to want a new house.  So we paint the outside and treated the wooden windows.  Then we decided to just get the paving around the pool fixed, I mean it wasn’t safe anymore and I kept having visions of kids running around the pool playing and tripping on the bricks or falling through the collapsed bricks.  Not sure who these kids are?  Then we decided to pave that section outside the kitchen door, now that it’s done all I can see is a little boy on one of those push bikes riding around in circles around the washing line – who is this boy?  Then we decided finally that we couldn’t take another cold winter and it was time to put in one of those proper closed stoves in the fire place which will hopefully provide proper heating in the house.  The stove arrives tomorrow, but the work on the chimney has been done and we spent the weekend painting the chimney breast making a feature out of it (it is stunning and I promise to post a photo of this as soon as the stove is in.  And there I was this morning as I walked passed the fire place seeing me lying on the couch with my head in Hopelessly’s lap with a big preggie belly sticking up.

We are already dreaming of the next step, although I think finances may be starting to slow us down.  We do a lot of 4×4 trips and camping and have said a few times in the last year, how on earth will we fit all our camping gear and a baby in the 4×4 and have started dreaming of getting a trailer to fit the stuff in and make space for baby.  We also want to move our front door so that we have space for a book shelf in the entrance hall, so we can take the huge books shelf out the spare (baby) room.  And on and on I could carry on with my plans for our home for ages.

It is the fantasy I am nesting for.  I don’t have to be pregnant to feel the most overwhelming urge to make our home ready.  I am ready so why shouldn’t our home be too?

Anyway I am beginning to think I’m loosing all my marbles.  A friend of mine said to me last week that the bad days do eventually go away, but so does your mind.  I think my mind left first.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility, Random, TTC and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nesting

  1. ldr1604 says:

    Your nesting sounds alot like wanting something very badly and doing all that is in your control to go forward to that dream. Nothing wrong with that.

  2. Mash says:

    I believe that when you make the space, you are closer to creating something to fill that space (read baby). I’m also just clearing out a little bit every weekend. One shelf of the spare room and then another one and eventually… there’ll be space for a crib and some baby’s clothes! Deep sigh. I think that winter makes us nesty and snuggly!

  3. ttcnot2easy says:

    Nothing wrong with what you’re doing, MiW! No marbles being lost as far as I can see! Most of us’ve been there! I’ll be following suit shortly while we sort out the spare room.. repaint, etc.
    xxx

Leave a Reply

