Six Week Wait

So Dr S rang Hopelessly yesterday and we have a Plan of Action (POA).  He told us what we already knew thanks to the communications on Friday from Greg the Hero Lab Technician, that we can go ahead with ICSI.  Hopelessly asked him if it would be worth while waiting a few more weeks to see if we get a further improvement to see if we may be able to avoid IVF.  Dr S said it is worth giving it another six to eight week to retest and we can judge based on whether there is an improvement and how much of an improvement we see.

So we are into a six week wait.  I cannot express enough how much better that is than the 12 -24 month wait we were initially told we were embarking on.  I mean we were told that this treatment if it worked could take up to two years before it worked.  Although Dr S seemed so sure it would work sooner and in fact it worked in exactly the timeframe he suggested.  Here we are just nine months into the treatment and we have something to work with!  So our plan is to test in six (or seven weeks – Hopelessly is giving me a hard time saying something about that being half way between the six to eight  weeks that Dr S suggested!).

We had a long chat about it last night as so many of you have suggested we simply get on with the ICSI.  I know that IVF has MUCH better success rates.  Somewhere between the elation at the news on Friday and last night it dawned on me that while this is the very best possible news, we still have a VERY long way to go before we have good enough sperm for successful IUI and that with IUI having such a low success rate to start with.  And so for a little while there I was all set to convince Hopelessly that we should stop messing around and get on with the ICSI – I am on day 3 today and could just get on with the cycle right now.

BUT… and it is a big BUT, IUI is so much less invasive and so much more natural and I really would like to avoid the toll on my body and emotions of IVF.  Also I figure our success rate with ICSI will be even better if we give the little swimmers a chance to get even better before we go ahead.

So we are in a six week wait.  But I’m hoping that because we have a plan if there isn’t a significant improvement the six weeks won’t drag too much.  Also I have some distractions still lined up, we are off to Jo’burg to visit my family – my sister has her very first photography exhibition which we are going to see (very excited about that) and I’m (hopefully) getting a new car and we need to finish painting the house before we do any ‘real’ cycles and I need to loose some weight again and get my body in better condition ready to host a sprog.

Wow this is all getting real folks!

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in fertility Treatment, Infertility, Male Factor Infertility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Six Week Wait

  1. dee says:

    I want to share some “Assvice” with you (this is coming from a seasoned VET). IUI is a waste of time (and money). I know you want to do this naturally with the least amount of stress but I dont think IUI is the answer. Once you have done IVF you will look back and see that IUI is really just a pathway to get you ready for IVF. By the time your 3x IUI’s are up you could have saved that money for a shot at IVF/ICSI. Hope this doesnt come across as harsh but if only I had saved my money and emotions that I wasted on IUI. You only have a 20% chance with IUI and a 50%+ chance with IVF.

    IVF and IVF/ICSI have the same success rates. We did IVF the first time and got zero fert so have done ICSI ever since and its better to know that you will get some fert than the possibility of none.

    Good luck with the healthy eating plan and prep for a cycle (which ever way you decide to go).
    xxx

  2. Cathy Nel says:

    That’s great news and how exciting to only have 6 weeks to wait! I must say throughout our journey (and ours is rather different but similar at the same time) I feel that it doesn’t matter how my child/ren is concieved as long as they are. Every cycle is so emotional and draining and you may even find that IUI will drain you of any energy you have left. I’m with Dee in suggesting that you start getting yourself ready for ICSI why waste time, money and effort? That’s just my opinion. I wish you luck with trying to figure things out and by the time your 6 weeks is up I’m sure you’ll more than know what it is you want to do 🙂

  3. skrambled says:

    Great news! I’m also with Dee. I think that if you have a shot with ICSI your should go for it. IUI…..nah! Especially with a sperm issue. With IVF you have more control and more information on what that sperm and egg is doing. With IUI you have much less info.

    But great news to work with!!

  4. bratty37 says:

    I don’t know MiW…maybe I am caught up with the whole romantic idea that maybe, just maybe…your baby could be conceived by making love to your husband…sigh…maybe I am a dreamer…but dreams can come true.

    Good luck with whatever you decide…thinking of you

  5. Mash says:

    I’m thinking like Bratty. Get those OPK’s out and maybe you’ll be knocked up by the time you get back from Jozi! Yeah!!!!

    I know EXACTLY how you feel. I’m scared SHITLESS of IVF. I’m really, truly considering my options.

    It’s not an easy choice. But what the hell, what’s a little IUI before you go for the big guns? I wouldn’t go for like 10 of them, but no harm in doing one or two?

    I think you’ll be like our Brats, BFP on IVF number 1!!!

  6. 6 weeks is not bad at all.
    I think it’s a good idea to wait this time and see if you have any improvement. A plan of action always makes me feel more relaxed.

Leave a Reply

