The Family Car

The biggest news this week is that I picked up my new car last Thursday!  And what, you may ask, does this have to do with infertility?  EVERYTHING.

You see I used to drive just about the smallest and most basic car on the market.  I loved my little car, economical, easy to drive and easy to park.  Big enough for me.  When DefinitelyTTC (previously known as Hopelessly – Yup thanks Les I think we will move to a new name for my man!) and I tried to go anywhere together in my little car, we sat shoulder to shoulder, not much room at all, and no room for suitcases or anything like that.  But not a problem as we have our 4×4 for when we go places together.  My little car is just for me to commute in.

Well then talk of a new car for me started.  It all started because DefTTC (yup the whole thing is just too long) went for a job interview which if he gets it will mean we have to commute into town together and we don’t fit in my car!  Anyway so the day we got the awesome SA results we went to see what would make a better car.  We had figured that the Merc A Class would be perfect, still relatively small but big enough for us both and with all the little luxuries to make commuting less of a drag.  But then we got the awesome news and when I looked at that A Class Boot I knew that a pram wasn’t  going to fit in there with all the other baby paraphernalia that is required.  You see the news had given us a kind of hope that we simply hadn’t had before.  I mean we were hoping, but not with any real expectation and now it’s there.  And so we suddenly found ourselves looking for a new car with a whole different set of priorities.

So we kept looking.

My Family CarAnd on Thursday I picked up my new FAMILY car!  I am beside myself with excitement at it.  We got the Volvo S40 – which has four doors so we can actually put kids in the back seats with ease.  It has a boot to take a pram and the travel cot and all the other stuff that a family car needs to cart around.  The front passenger airbag can be switched off to allow for a baby seat in the front.  It has ABS and airbags to make it safer for the whole family.  And the ‘sexy’ stuff that totally sold me on it – Bluetooth hands-free kit, rear-park assist, two cup-holders, I can play music off a little memory stick which fits into the cubby under the arm rest.  I could go on and on gushing about my new car, but I won’t bore you to tears.

I feel so grown up with my family car and am so ready to put that baby seat in it.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in family, Infertility, Male Factor Infertility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Family Car

  1. Bratty says:

    The Volvo S40 is a lovely car with great security ratings. The company I work for owns a Volvo dealership and I have had the pleasure of driving one on a few occassions. Very comfortable…definitely a good family car. Well done…enjoy the ride…

  2. ChrisN says:

    Awesome news! Enjoy your new car and I am sure you will soon be popping a baby seat in the back 🙂

  3. Mash says:

    That’s awesome, enjoy it!!!

  4. KK says:

    Yay for the family car! I love the new DefTTC nickname. 🙂

  5. ttcnot2easy says:

    Oooh and dat be a very ververy sexy car! Congrats. Loving the new name for DTTC! Can you puh-lease just ask him to update his blog so that we can hear from him how flippingdamnedmarvelous your SA news is? 😉

  6. Lesley says:

    Perfect car for your family 🙂 Space for Mom, Dad, Baby and 2 x boxers as well. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

