Soul Medicine

As some of you will already know DefTTC and I are HUGE West Wing fans.  I know this is sad seeing as the series ended years ago, but we own all seven seasons and on an annual basis we re-watch from the first episode of Season 1 right through to the last episode of Season 7.  We started early this year and are already on season 2.  In the episode we watched last night Leo tells Josh the following story:

This guy’s walking down the street when he falls in a hole. The walls are so steep he can’t get out.

A doctor passes by and the guy shouts up, ‘Hey you. Can you help me out?’ The doctor writes a prescription, throws it down in the hole and moves on.

Then a priest comes along and the guy shouts up, ‘Father, I’m down in this hole can you help me out?’ The priest writes out a prayer, throws it down in the hole and moves on

Then a friend walks by, ‘Hey, Joe, it’s me can you help me out?’ And the friend jumps in the hole. Our guy says, ‘Are you stupid? Now we’re both down here.’ The friend says, ‘Yeah, but I’ve been down here before and I know the way out.’

I’ve referred to this story on someone’s blog post recently, but wanted to share the story with all of you.

You see this infertility journey sucks big time!  Yup you know, I’m not teaching you anything there.  And every one of us has a different journey, with a different path and a different ending.  Which means that sometimes I feel so inadequate trying to provide support to others.  I mean I haven’t had an IUI, I haven’t been through IVF, I have never had a 2ww, POAS, got the BFN or the BFP, never had a miscarriage, had an ectopic pregnancy or lost a baby.  But somehow I can relate to what the people who have endured these things go through.  Because I have been ‘in the hole’ longing for a baby, wishing my arms were filled and seeing no light at the end of the tunnel.

You see we have our doctors and they give us advice and they give us prescriptions and medical treatment to help along the way.  And some of us have priests or congregations who pray for and with us for our miracle.  But these people don’t know the way out the tunnel.

I don’t have the way out the tunnel by the way.  I just wanted to encourage all of you to make real life friends who have been in the hole and can show you how to cope.  They are my strength and keep me laughing and hell if you’re tired of crying like I was then laughter really is the best medicine for the soul.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Infertility, TTC and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Soul Medicine

  1. Cathy Nel says:

    Awesome post! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Lesley says:

    Ha! And you said I was getting soppy…
    Beautiful post 🙂

  3. ttcnot2easy says:

    Perfect post. Beautiful. I love it. And this is exactly why I GUSHED about you lovelies to Travers! Finally – friends who can relate!!

  4. Pingback: Through Someone Else’s Eyes « Mommy-in-Waiting's Blog

Leave a Reply

