It Just Hit Me…

So I just endured my first 2ww which was a strange one anyway.  My cycles are not exactly predictable and can be anything from 21 to 36 days, not too bad, but makes timing the Baby Dance a little difficult.  I thought I had it down pat and had totally figured out the EWCM, but last month I got it twice a week apart and AFs arrival wasn’t timed to either occurrence.  Anyway the net result was that this cycle I got the EWCM on day 7, but still spent another week watching out for more and thinking I might not yet have ovulated.  But there AF was on day 22, so my 2ww was only really a 1ww.

Anyhoo, I keep a little calendar where I track AF, EWCM and SA days and when I entered AF’s arrival it occurred to me that we could be starting our IVF in three weeks (all dependant on my silly cycle!)

Today it is two weeks to the next SA, tomorrow we are down to just two weeks to our FS appointment where we get a POA and in around three weeks we could be starting IVF! OMG!

Did you see what happened there… a few posts back I was all in the land of IUI if at all possible and now I have come to terms with the fact that it’s almost certainly going to be IVF with ICSI.

Financially DefTTC had a great billing month in May and looks like he will have another one this month, so we will have enough money for IVF 1 & probably 2 because I simply can’t bear the thought of not being able to go again fairly quickly if this doesn’t work.

It feels like we waited so long just to get to the starting line and suddenly this could all be starting really soon.  I am nervous and excited and terrified.  But I am doing much better than I was when I think about all the implications of IVF.  So hang on – this rollercoaster is reaching the top of the slow climb and the exciting ride is about to begin.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in fertility Treatment, Male Factor Infertility, TTC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It Just Hit Me…

  1. Cathy Nel says:

    Yay! Super exciting 🙂 Our IVF will be around 5 weeks from now and at the rate the weeks are flying by it’s just around the corner. So exciting. My DH is so set on the IVF he’s not even bothered with TTC naturally. I think he’s given up on that idea… because clearly our ‘making love’ is just that… making love and not babies! haha
    Just wanted to say good luck and holding thumbs, toes, fingers and everything else holdable for your guys! Your happy ending is just around the corner I can feel it! xxx

  2. Mash says:

    Today I had another negative HPT, but I didn’t allow myself out the door to buy it before I made the appointment for the IVF. Consultation is on 26 July, so about 6 weeks away. I spent the afternoon looking at photos of the staff at the fertility clinic, thinking these people are going to be responsible for my babies. Wow. They are going to see me in all kinds of compromising positions, teach me to shoot up, and then they are going to watch my babies grow in a dish.

  3. Missy says:

    Exciting! And great news about the financial situation.

  4. KK says:

    Wow, that is a quick progression! At the same time it feels like things are really just falling in to place for you and DefTTC.

  5. ldr1604 says:

    Oh my goodess! 3 weeks eek! I’m going start loosening the catch on “the-necklace-that-never-fails” to hand it over. Perfect timing actually as I’ll have had my 13 week scan already so will be ready for the ceremonial hand-over.

    Please my friend, should (God forbid) IVF/ICSI #1 fail please take some time to heal before diving into #2. I’m there for you either way but really really don’t recommend only a month’s break between cycles having been there and paid for the psychologist to sew my head back on.

    Take it one cycle at a time, I really think this is the way to stay as sane as possible.

  6. samcy says:

    This is exciting news indeed! Hopefully you won’t need to consider IVF #2 but I echo L on this one – I know it’s hard not to but DON’T rush into # 2 if it comes to that.

    Realistically one is just not mentally in the right frame of mind after a failed IVF to just jump into another one soon after.

    Praying that the “necklace that never fails” works for you too.

    xxx

Leave a Reply

