Entering a New Land

We spent so long with zero sperm and probably not really believing we would ever find ourselves in this place where we can do IVF with our own genetics.  All along this journey while, yes, I have definitely had plenty of thoughts about the what next stage, I have avoided doing too much research about the next phase.  I didn’t want to get ahead of myself.  I didn’t want to ‘know’ what ‘should’ happen next in case things didn’t pan out that way.

Now I’m not saying I’ve been a complete ignoramus, I’ve done some homework, read the forum and have surrounded myself with IF vets.  By listening to them and watching what they have been through I have learnt tonnes.  But not in the gory detailed sort of way that you want to know EVERYTHING when it’s actually going to be you. 

So now we are in a new land and rather than do any work today I have been reading all about how they actually do the ICSI, how they hold the egg, insert the sperm, how they know if fertilisation has actually taken place.  All the details about the technique they use for embryo transfer and where they put the little blast in the uterus and how it goes about implanting.  WOW  nature is amazing, but in our case the doctors are astounding.  It is really like science fiction to read all about this.

No doubt this is a sign of things to come, the googling I will be doing looking for implantation signs and early pregnancy symptoms even though I know there is no such thing, still gotta have all the facts.

No AF hasn’t showed, but I am totally relaxed about this.  The plan was a nice to have, but I am NOT going to stress myself over things before we even get started.  And as it turns out I now have a meeting Monday morning, so that wouldn’t have been perfect anymore.  What will be will be.

Tonight is date night, off to see Robin Hood and DefTTC is hoping that Russell Crowe looks amazing to put me in the mood so he gets some action tonight – LOL!

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in azoospermia, fertility Treatment, Infertility, TTC and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Entering a New Land

  1. Lesley says:

    The procedures are very very cool. Enjoy Dr Google, he is going to be your best friend over the next few weeks.

    Wear white pants and AF will come!

  2. Cathy Nel says:

    It’s all exciting. I’m in the same space as you! Trying to learn and get as much info as possible. ONe word of advice don’t google preg symptoms! It’s a waste of time and energy and all the hormones will already give you the symptoms – ie pointless. I have all the symptoms every cycle I learnt this the hard way 😦

    Enjoy date night I so giggled about the Robin Hood part! hahaha So funny.

    I enjoyed reading DEFTTC’s post it was hilarious, he must write a book!

    xxx

  3. Sian says:

    The science behind ART is amazing. We are so lucky that we live in this time.
    We saw Robin Hood last weekend. Unfortunately he only takes his top off once. But when he does….Sjoe!

  4. Suzy says:

    How exciting you’ll be able to use your own genetics for the IVF! hope it goes well.

    ~ICLW

  5. samcy says:

    It’s very interesting to know how it all happens and when and what not – but a word of advise from the none too wise – try limit the Dr Google exposure, all it does is drive you NUTSO!

    Also wanted to say about TNTNF – what a special moment – really hope and pray it continues with it’s winning streak.

    xxx

  6. Ashlee says:

    Russel Crowe is delicous. 😉

    Best of luck!

    Ashlee, ICLW #180

  7. christine says:

    Hope Robin Hood was good! We also have male factor infertility!

    I hope you get your positive soon!

    ICLW #69

  8. Suzy says:

    You know I’ve never really researched that side of the IVF, the actual science involved! I am normally an obsessive googler so that s a little surprising! Good luck 🙂

  9. Britt says:

    Popping over from ICLW! Good luck with your IVF! And hope you enjoy the ever delicious eye candy that is Russel Crowe!!

  10. marisa says:

    All the best in your research!!!!

  11. Waiting Lisa says:

    Very exciting stuff! Good luck!!

  12. ttcnot2easy says:

    Hope AF has shown her ugly face since this post??

    Oh, and your husband is a naughty little devil, isn’t he???? LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

