Turning the Tables

Right so first thing this morning it was off to the clinic for my CD3 scan.  We had the first appointment of the day so no sitting around waiting.  Dr S is simply the very best ever.  You know people have been telling me this since before we changed doctors, but until I actually had him doing a scan I wasn’t that overwhelmed by him.  He sat with his hand on my knee waiting for the machine to get warmed up and was so kind and gentle and just amazing.  And even patted my cheek after the scan  and wished us luck and managed not to be condescending doing it.  I ♥ my FS!

The scan was exactly as we would hope at this stage.  Thin lining showing that everything is clearing out the way it’s supposed to.  No cysts.  And even five follies.  One on the one side and four on the other – I can’t remember which side was which.  He said next scan on CD8 which is Monday and hopefully by then we will have recruited some more follies with the meds.  He took the time to show us everything and explain everything we were seeing on the machine. 

And then he gave us the bad news… he’s off on holiday and so one of the other doctors will be doing my next scan.

From there it was off to the nurse to get the meds and book our next scan.  She started off saying that Dr Shit-for-brains would be doing my scan as Dr S is away and I had to ask for the Prof – which I got – thank heavens! 

And then it was time to turn the tables and inject myself.  I was VERY brave and gave myself the shot in my tummy.  It turns out DefTTC was right, Menopur is fine, no problem what-so-ever!  It was all so easy that when I first stuck the needle in I thought I had missed (like you could miss my big fat roll) because I never even felt the needle going in.  Okay I admit I felt the meds going in, but no worries! 

So our new routine includes shots for him in the evening and shots for me in the morning – our cleaning service probably think we are some kind of junkies when they empty the trash as see the syringes in the bin (obviously not the needles as they are being disposed of properly.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in fertility Treatment, TTC and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Turning the Tables

  1. teejay says:

    Sounds like you are off to a good start! When I was on Menopur it stung a bit but the needle wasn’t the problem…they are so tiny and thin. I was very nervous about the shots but they were a breeze, like you said. Hope that your day 8 scan shows some good growth.

  2. Cathy Nel says:

    Yay great news! I hope and pray you ‘junkies’ get your BFP and all the ‘shooting up’ is totally worth it!

    I can’t wait to join you in the IVF game 🙂

  3. Mash says:

    I saw Def’s post, very excited for you guys. You need to not leave out ANYTHING in the next few days/weeks posts 🙂

    My pre-IVF consultation is in 21 days… we are all going to have big fat preggy bellies together 🙂

  4. tasivfer says:

    5 follies ALREADY?! You must be some sort of follicle making godess! Which is great – I know you’re both ready to get going with all this NOW, so good to see your follicles coming to the party as well. 😀

  5. Kim says:

    That’s great you are on to a great start. I relieved to hear the the injections weren’t too bad. I learnt how to do them today and it was a bit overwhelming! Best of luck for your cycle.

  6. Sian says:

    Ah! Good luck. I hope everything goes super well from now ……until you see those two lines. 🙂

  7. ttcnot2easy says:

    I’m so sorry I missed this 😦
    Pleased that you are now On The Bus, front row seat and all!!
    All the best going forward, my beauties!

Leave a Reply

