Out of Body

I can’t believe that tomorrow is the next scan. Time is in a complete warp, dragging and yet here we are knocking on the door of the CD8 scan. The injections have been fine, nothing to bother me really, although I am going to have to swap to injecting my left side as I now have a tiny bruise on the right. Wednesday I developed a groggy head (not sure how else to describe it) – felt like I was getting flu – you know the head where it’s not so much sore as just very fuzzy. By Thursday it had gotten worse and I have to say by Thursday afternoon I thought I was on a downward slope to weeks of feeling dreadful on the hormones. But, I got home Thursday had an afternoon nap and by the time I went to bed, was starting to feel a little brighter. By Friday morning I was back to my normal self. Since then no side effects at all.

It’s bizarre, this whole IVF feels a little like an out of body experience. It was only the night before my CD3 scan that it really hit home that all those things I had been reading about where about to happen in MY body. I was reading something about healthy foods to eat etc and read about having to drink 2litres of water a day, and suddenly it dawned on me, yes I was going to need to drink all that water. My follicles would be developing etc etc etc.

I had a moment of clarity of what this is all about on Thursday night, when we were watching our favourite (West Wing) and one of the characters has to let his boss know that his wife is expecting twins. Suddenly for the first time I could see the happy ending. I got a little glimpse of what that might feel like and it actually became real that IVF might lead to babies! I think until then it was just what we were doing, because it’s the next thing you have to do, you know all those months of DefTTC enduring the injections were leading to IVF so now we were here. But the reality was a little displaced.  I think it’s starting to sink in and hopefully will be heading back into my body sometime soon.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility, Male Factor Infertility, TTC and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Out of Body

  1. ttcnot2easy says:

    You’re right.. we easily go through the motions, but don’t often think forwards to the actual outcome of treatment. Same thing happened to me.

    Have you started feeling any activity in your ovaries yet? I started feeling a stitch-like sensation from fairly early on. Nothing painful – more just an awareness.

    Thinking of you always
    xxx

  2. Melissa (The Sweetest Gift) says:

    Awaiting your update on todays scan!!

    Thanks for the comment about upping your chances with 10 or more egss, that will help to keep the blues away!

    The ovidrell isn’t too bad. Have done it for our 5 IUI’s. SO over it by now!

    All the best. Can’t wait for your update.

    xx

Leave a Reply

