Another Check Point

This is where I admit that I was being very brave when I decided to go ahead with this cycle without my beloved Dr S to hold my hand. I was concerned that any other doc who got involved at this stage would only go through the motions and not spend too much brain power on us because we aren’t really his patient.

It just wasn’t so. We finally met Prof Kruger today and I was impressed. Firstly I thought he would be older than he is and probably a little more nutty professor – if you know what I mean. Also he walked in and got straight to asking DefTTC some questions which told me he had actually taken the time to review our file! Yah!!!

So he asked DefTTC to please go give another sample on Thursday so that we can see if we can freeze some sperm, just in case on the day they can’t find any or something goes wrong. He also told DefTTC to not eat anything the morning of Egg Retrieval in case they need to do a biopsy to get sperm. Now we certainly weren’t expecting that. The freezing part makes perfect sense and I am so thrilled that he thought about it, so that should (hopefully) be one less thing to contribute to the SNAIFs (Sleepless Nights Attributed to InFertility). But I think DefTTC turned green just at the mention of a biopsy. I doubt we will need to go there though.

Then my scan. All looked fine. On the right there were 4 big follies – biggest one 13mm. On the left two big follies – biggest one 11mm and lots of small ones. So I am comfortable that we will have eggs. So another check point passed.

Got my cetrotide injection this morning to suppress ovulation. Nasty bitching stuff! So flipping itchy – It’s like a bee sting, but DefTTC said that a sausage egg mac muffin would make the itch go away and it actually seemed to work!?! Menopur continues until Thursday when I go for another scan by which stage I’m hoping I will get some indication of ER date, but I’m thinking probably Saturday or Sunday.

Chopper asked if I could feel my ovaries yet! Yup – it’s strange, not pain at all, not even discomfort, just an awareness of exactly where they are – not all the time, but definitely there. On the symptom watch I’m also feeling bloated on and off, but not sure if that isn’t just from the yummy biscuits I found that help as a distraction from IVF thoughts.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in fertility Treatment, Male Factor Infertility, TTC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Another Check Point

  1. Mash says:

    So exciting 🙂 I really don’t think they will need a biopsy…

  2. Melissa (The Sweetest Gift) says:

    Very exciting… it’s downhill from here!

    Hated the Cetrotide – worse than a monster mosquito bite!

  3. KK says:

    I am impressed with Prof K and his prep for your appointment. I hope there are no needles and biopsies required for poor DefTTC. He should embrace the theory that if you go in prepared, it won’t need to happen (and conversely, if you were unprepared, it would). Foregoing breakfast is a small price to pay to ensure no biopsy. 🙂

  4. Cathy Nel says:

    FANTASTIC 🙂 Sounds like the “Not-so-nutty-Professor” has got it down! So looking forward to your updates and holding thumbs, fingers, toes and anything else for you guys! XXX

  5. AmandaMqn says:

    yay for a good doc! So happy that things are looking good and I hope there is no need for a biopsy for DefTTC, those are no picnic!

  6. Emmy says:

    I’m glad the new Dr. exceeded your expectations!

    I hated the cetrotide. It gave me a huge, red, swollen welt about 1.5 inches in diameter. I found that putting ice on the site right after helped calm it down.

    I hope no biopsy is needed!

  7. ldr1604 says:

    Doubt the biopsy will be needed based on the last two samples but glad there is a back up plan just in case. If DefTTC wants to ask any questions mano to mano about this I’m happy to pass on the details of C’s e-mail. Sounds like the Prof is just being uber-careful which is great.

Leave a Reply

