Retrieval Tomorrow

Thursday was the toughest day of this treatment (so far).  I was so down about the scan results and then had EWCM which scared the crap out of me as I thought I was ovulating and had to phone the nurse to calm me down.  She was a sweetie and actually told me to eat some chocolate as it would help.  I was emotional and scared and feeling decidedly that after everything poor DefTTC has been through to get us to this point my ovaries were letting us down by not giving us a good haul.

Pink Soup

Thursday night however was exactly what I needed to get out of my own head space.  We had a little baby shower for Chops over at TTCNot2Easy and having my amazing ladies around me and spending the evening focused on someone else was perfect.  We ate pink soup and pink bread and pink cupcakes and sweets – everything was pink in honour of her little girl’s arrival tomorrow.

And so for Friday’s scan I managed to have no expectations seeing as I couldn’t imagine what could really have changed in 24 hours.  But it was better.  Still only five decent size follies visible, but all five were 17mm and that seems like a good thing to me.  Don’t ask me why, but my brain liked the symmetry.  And so I was sent home with my trigger with egg retrieval to happen on Monday morning and feeling much better.  

So I managed to keep my eyes open until 11.00pm last night to give myself the Ovidrel (trigger) shot.  I was nervous about this one as Ovidrel is the one that DefTTC always complains about.  And in fact other people have told me too that it stings and is a bit of a b!tch.  But I’m relieved to say that while it did sting a bit and then ached for a minute or two afterwards, compared to the Cetrotide on Monday, this was a breeze.

So my ovaries will be relieved of their burden tomorrow.  I got the cutest sms yesterday from L:

Dear (MIW’s) follies.  Yes I know the last week has probably been a little shocking for you but not long now till you are relived of your precious cargo.  Thanks very much for all your hard work.  Much appreciated.

 An ahhhhhhhh moment!

This is where it all starts getting interesting, I’ll keep you posted.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in fertility Treatment, ivf, TTC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Retrieval Tomorrow

  1. Marion says:

    All the best for ER tomorrow – it should be fine! I only had discomfort once and that was when we got 14 eggs, so I don’t think you have to worry about it! I hope all 5 will fertilize and that they make excellent quality embies!

    I must say of all the injections I’ve had to dat the cetrotide was the worst! I hope you don’t have to get anymore from now on!

  2. Emmy says:

    I’m glad the scan was better. Good luck with your retrieval tomorrow! I’ll be checking in to see how it goes!

    I had TONS of ewcm, even after the retrieval. They said it was just because my estrogen was way high.

    I hope they find more eggs than you’re expecting!

  3. charliesbird says:

    Hi, I’m delurking to wish you well for tomorrow, I trust those eggs and swimmers will hook up well! My cycle has closely mirrored yours, it’s also our first IVF ICSI (I have premature ovarian failure, endo, and MFI) I had my OPU yesterday, so I’m a few days ahead of you now. All the best, be a good egg layer!

  4. AmandaMqn says:

    Wishing you loads of goodness for the retrieval tomorrow! I am anxious for your update and to cheer you on for the rest of the wait!

  5. ChrisN says:

    Thinking of you so much today. I cannot wait to hear all about your beautiful fertilised eggs and then your gorgeous embabies and then your BFP!!!!! Wishing you so much love and luck!

  6. Cathy Nel says:

    Thinking of you and your little eggies! Good luck to you and DefTTC. So looking forward to your update and sending plenty love to those ‘soon to be’ embabies
    xxx

  7. Lesley says:

    It gets interesting indeed from now on… Making little N and C embies, doesn’t get more interesting that that. Glad all went well today, hoping for a good report tomorrow.

  8. bratty says:

    Thinking of you guys…

Leave a Reply

