We Have Lift Off

Oh I had so braced myself to hear that none of our eggs had fertilised. And it was good news. Three (3) eggs are showing signs of fertilisation. Actually I have heard there were six eggs, but one was no good – not sure what that means? And so they only ICSI’d five and of those 3 are there.

This was the biggest hurdle in my head, I know we aren’t there yet, but this stage for me was always going to be the big one.

L thank you for the call, it really helped me to realise my crazy assed thoughts were ‘normal’.

I said to DefTTC yesterday how I felt barren since they had taken the eggs out. Up until yesterday’s retrieval I felt like I was in control (yes I know I’m not really, but leave me to my illusions). After all I was nurturing those eggs, which could become our maybe-baby, they were inside me. And all of a sudden they had taken them away from me. And everything was out of my hands. I had to trust the most important thing that will happen in our lives to a stranger named Maureen with kind eyes. I know this may sound ridiculous, but I want to rush to the clinic and keep my embies company, make sure they are being looked after properly and wanted to watch the whole ICSI process to make sure they are doing things properly. Not that I would know what doing it properly looks like.

So I have to phone again tomorrow for an update, but we are working towards transfer on Thursday – day 3. Come on little guys grow and get strong!

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in fertility Treatment, ivf, TTC and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to We Have Lift Off

  1. skrambled says:

    That is good news. The sixth egg was possibly not mature enough to work with.

  2. bratty37 says:

    Big Congrats….!!! Will be holding thumbs for those embies…The wait is the absolute worst. I found myself wanting to burst into tears…

    Tell DefTTC he is quite the stud now…three embies…smile

  3. Cathy Nel says:

    Fantastic news! Wow it’s amazing how we walk this path with such strength (although we feel like jibbering idiots most of the time). I can identify with the ‘barren’ feeling, but don’t worry so very very soon you’ll be having your embabies put back where they belong to grow for 9 months 🙂
    Thinking of you guys, you’re doing great!

  4. Kim says:

    Having 3 eggs fertilise out of 5 is great numbers! Fingers crossed that they are good embies and continue to divide well.

    I found myself nodding and smiling about leaving your embies. I have thought about it and think it will be a weird feeling to leave my ‘babies’ at the hospital.

    Best of luck.

    Kim

  5. darylfaure says:

    Not crazy – totally normal. Those are your little babies growing in that lab, and you just want to make sure they are doing ok.
    I’m sure they are getting the best care in the world that they could be getting from anyone other than their mother, and soon they will be back onboard the mothership.
    Take it easy now and keep visualising and saying to yourself I will be pregnant.

  6. AmandaMqn says:

    Grow embies, grow! Keeping my fingers and toes crossed for you both!

  7. charliesbird says:

    Awesome news! here’s hoping they keep doing what they’re supposed to be doing – dividing. It is tough handing those little angels over to the lab, but they certainly do do a good job at babysitting them.

  8. tasivfer says:

    I know exactly how you feel. After ER I always feel like I wish I could look through the lab door at our embryos, like you see family memebers looking through at babies in incubators in TV programmes. They seem so far away when they were part of you and should be part of you again.

  9. Elmarie Mentz says:

    Congratulations!!!!! This is amazing news!!!

  10. ChrisN says:

    Sjoe- can’t wait for the next update. Holding everything possible that those embabies grow and grow and you get a double BFP in 2 weeks time 🙂

  11. Lesley says:

    Yup you are only as crazy as I am! Okay probably not much comfort there… 🙂
    Good luck for today’s update, crossing everything they are looking awesome. Nice of Kinnie to say hi to them.

  12. samcy says:

    That’s excellent news honey. For me waiting to hear that first fert report is always THE most stressful part of any IVF I’ve done. Cos you just don’t know.

    Embies are growing well now and tomorrow they will be back where they belong!

    xxx

  13. liddy says:

    Wishing you a ton of luck. Excellent news!

    Also I just added you to my blogroll.
    liddy @ the unfair struggle

Leave a Reply

