I ♥ my FS

We had our IVF follow up appointment with Dr S on Friday and he is just awesome. Henceforth he shall be known as Dr Sweetie Pie. He was so kind and caring and compassionate.  We walked in and he looked us in the eye and asked how we were doing, when we said ‘fine’ he sat down and then looked at each of us in turn and asked again.  It was like he would not accept being brushed off with a fine.  I said we really were doing okay, DefTTC said that he thought that because this was our first real attempt, our first ever failed cycle, that it was easier to bear.  And I mentioned how having been active members of Fertilicare and blogging that we had heard all about how bad it could be and perhaps built it up to be worse than it actually turned out to be. 

He took us through the whole cycle step by step.  Showed us the progress of our embies, talked us through the stats.  He said that everything was just the way one would hope for it to be.  He said there wasn’t really anything he would recommend we change.  He seemed to get that that may seem strange to us seeing as it didn’t work, but explained everything.  I had a few questions…

First off I had hoped to get more eggs, I was disappointed with only five.  He talked us through the fertility rate, it seems one of the five eggs was damaged during cleaning and se we actually had three eggs fertilise out of only four.  A fert rate of 75% which is near the top end. I asked whether he would stimm me harder next time to get more eggs and he said that when you stimm harder you may get more eggs, but you don’t improve quality and that often the additional eggs are poor quality.  He said in his opinion stimming harder would just cost more money but not necessarily get us any additional embies. 

I asked about my lining.  The last measure had been 7mm which was 6 days before transfer.  He said that at that stage they hope to see a lining between 7mm-10mm and that my lining was borderline.  He said that of course it probably did thicken in the six days leading to transfer.  I asked about the Clomid, I have heard that it can have a negative impact on lining and he said that while this was perceived to be true a recent reanalysis of IVF stats shows that clomid has not greater impact on lining than any other drugs.  He said but if this was a concern to me we would use Femara next time.  I love that this man gives you the information, but makes sure that you feel heard and takes into consideration your feelings on decisions. 

He then said that as the lining was a little thin he would recommend doing a hysteroscopy straight after my next period to have a look around and make sure everything is fine.  I didn’t get the impression that he is expecting to find anything, but that this is more of a precaution.  So I will give the clinic a call on my next CD1 to book the hysteroscopy.

All in all he said it is good news that we really had crossed every milestone well and that it is just a matter of playing the odds.  He said we should be pleased.  He then gave me the biggest fright of this journey so far.  He said that if the embies hadn’t been good quality he would have recommended moving on to donor sperm!  It hadn’t crossed my mind that we might go back there.  You see if the embies had been poor I would have assumed we just needed more time on the meds or that my eggs were old, but not that donor sperm would be put back on the table.  After everything DefTTC has been through to bring us to this point I’m not sure I could even consider going back very easily.  So sjoe – thank heavens the embies were good!

We asked about putting back three embies – this was one thing that had me very nervous, a triplet pregnancy is high risk and scares me and I was almost terrified that all three would stick.  He said that we had a 42% chance of success with the cycle.  Of that 42% there was a 20% chance of twins, but even if all three embies had been good quality only a 1% chance (of the 42%) that all three would stick.  In other words only 0.42% chance of triplets and if we have three embies again he would recommend putting them all back.  That was also a relief.  I just loved the way he knew all the numbers didn’t need to refer to anything to give us the information.  Gave me such confidence in him and our decision to change doctors last year.

And so we are on hold for a little longer than anticipated.  Instead of starting IVF#2 next cycle I will be having the hysteroscopy and then only doing the IVF/ICSI on the cycle after that probably late September / early October, depending how my cycles work out.  I have to say I am relieved for the delay and have so much to say on the thoughts in my head around IVF#2 that it will have to wait for another post.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in donor sperm, fertility Treatment, Infertility, ivf, Male Factor Infertility, TTC and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I ♥ my FS

  1. darylfaure says:

    I’m so pleased you had such a good follow up appointment and are feeling so positive. It’s great that you have a POA and that it is just a matter of time now before you climb back on the horse. Use this “down time” to have fun, have normal unscheduled s*x, and appreciate each other.

  2. Sounds like a incredible doctor. Sorry your hold for awhile, hope the time goes by fast.

  3. Danielle says:

    Your doctor sounds amazing! I’m so glad you got such thorough information and feel confident with the care you’re getting now -that’s so awesome! Looking forward to your next post and following along with you on your journey! 🙂

  4. Kim says:

    I’m so glad you are happy with your doctor, it makes things a lot easier when you aren’t fighting a doctor along the way. Best of luck for your next cycle.

    Kim

  5. Magic Mama says:

    Your new doctor sounds really great! That’s wonderful that you are getting such straight forward answers and feeling comfortable and confident with him. I hope that is really eases the stress of your next cycle. We just had a transfer for our first IVF cycle, and unfortunately we weren’t thrilled with our doctor. She was vague and even discouraging at times. I guess at this point it doesn’t matter if it works! But if not, we will probably reevaluate as you did. Good to hear your feedback. Good luck with the next steps!

  6. ttcnot2easy says:

    Love, love LOVE that man for his honesty and not sugar coating things. Respect him so much for that!! While I am still so sad and bummed about your bfn, I am pleased that u have some answers and a way forward! xxxxx

Leave a Reply

