Three Chicks

Some of you may remember the pigeons that built a nest, laid their eggs, hatched their eggs and successfully brought up their chick all on our patio last year. 

Well this year we had a pair of wagtails nest on our patio.  About a month ago the eggs hatched and we watched these wagtail parents nurture their three chicks.  You cannot believe how hard the parents have to work to keep three mouths fed.  The parents seemed to be constantly flying in and out of the nest bringing fresh worms and bugs for their babies.  And the chicks were flourishing.

Then a couple of weeks ago my sister and I sat in the lounge and watched as the chicks took their first flight out of the nest.  There was a huge kurfluffle as a few of them flow into our glass sliding door, but they seemed to be doing okay.  Until DeffTTC came into the lounge and said that our resident Butcher Bird had one of the chicks and its wagtail parents were trying to fight off the butcher bird.  We went outside to see what was happening to find one chick dead on the floor and the Butcher Bird with another chick in a tree. 

In the end none of the chicks survived.  I cried and cried.  It really crushed my heart thinking what those parents had been through only to lose all three of their babies. 

Somehow those chicks came to represent our three embies from our failed cycle.  The embies we went through so much to produce and worked so hard nurture.  Yet our embies died.

And now two weeks later can you believe that those wagtails are back in the same nest sitting on a new batch of eggs.  And we are starting to produce our new batch of eggs.

I guess what I’m saying is that hope helps to heal the heart and keeps us going.  I have so much hope for this cycle.  

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in TTC and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Three Chicks

  1. Mash says:

    Oh my goodness. It’s so symbolic! I love it!

  2. Tarah says:

    Aw….what a beautiful post that has me tearing up. I hope that this next cycle renews your hope and rewards you for it as well.

    Happy ICLW #115
    http://lovelyladybump.blogspot.com/

  3. tasivfer says:

    I’m scared of the symbolism because butcher birds are so mean! But it’s still so touching. I hope the contents of both your nests do really, really well this round!

    And happy National Braai Day. 😉

  4. Nelly says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and giving me reassurance it’s ok for my craziness to seep through 🙂 GL on your cycle! I’ll be waiting along with ya!

  5. Lesley says:

    Hoping for successful nests of baby waggies and baby D’s soon. Every IVF comes with feelings of “hey what if this just worked…” because you know what they sometimes do. That’s is why we pick our selves up, dust off our knees and get back on the crazy ride. Thank goodness for hope or we’d give up at the first stumbling block.

Leave a Reply

