My Man is Back

Yes, I know how totally pathetic it is that I go completely to pieces without DefTTC around, but I do.  I’ve told you before, he is my rock and helps to keep me mentally and emotionally stable, so yesterday was a wobble day.  Funny enough although I spent the whole day on the verge of tears I didn’t cry until he got home and then it all came pouring out.  And now today I feel back in control (well as in control as you can be when you are undergoing IVF) and calm. 

When we first decided to stay in the UK my little sister was only five years old and so our first holiday back in South Africa we gave her a teddy bear, she named it N Bear and slept with it every night so she wouldn’t miss me.  Apparently this was so successful for her that she got another teddy, Stofington Bear (don’t ask about the name, my family are great at coming up with the most bizarre nicknames) to represent DefTTC.  And when my brother came over for a few months, she added to the teddy family and got a B Bear so she wouldn’t miss him too much.  And so my step-mom has suggested I get a Stofington Bear of my own that can fill his place when he goes away.  I like it!

And the SNAIFs (Sleepless Nights Attributed to Infertility) are back.  Back to waking up in the middle of the night and lying awake for hours with my mind ticking over at a rate of knots.  I’m not worrying, just have a very busy brain.  Never mind Friday morning I have that yummy snooze under the influence of the yummy drugs.

A friend sent me an sms this morning saying “sjoe D embies in the world again this weekend” and suddenly it is real.  Yes if all goes according to plan this weekend on my Dad’s 60th birthday we will get news that we have fertilised embies.  I am getting so very excited.  This time I can taste the BFP!

BTW I found those damn trousers!  Go figure they were folded up very neatly on my underwear shelf?  Don’t ask how I managed to take our underwear everyday for over a week before I found them?

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in family, fertility Treatment, ivf, TTC and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Man is Back

  1. tasivfer says:

    I’m glad your man and your trousers are back! Your happiness in him being back just shines through this post; it seems so up beat. 🙂 It’s wonderful you still feel that way about each other. And how EXCITING that your embryos will be here in the world this weekend. Gosh, I know so many people having ovum pick ups on Friday. All the best!

  2. Erika says:

    I always say, we may suffer from If, but at least I suffer from the good husband syndrome too! It could have been so much worse… glad your rock is back. Good luck going on!

  3. Jane says:

    I love all the teddy bears with names! I live far from my family too, and I feel so out of sorts when DH is gone. (Which is a lot… he’s gone for work all the time.)

    Best of luck to you for Friday!!!!

  4. Mash says:

    Ha ha ha! The trousers in the underwear drawer! So glad they and Def are back. I’m betting on 6 embies, 5 fertilized, 3 making it to transfer. 1 happy healthy bubs.

  5. kitty8218 says:

    Hehehe I like the teddy idea 🙂 Ah man I hate those SNAIF!!! Flip when I was going through mine I COULDN’T SLEEP!!!!!!! Good luck for Friday, will be thinking of you
    xxx

  6. ttcnot2easy says:

    Oh you make me chuckle – I can just see your face in response to finding the trousers!

    Your Bear is back and mine has just left for a WHOLE WEEK! Don’t know how I’m going to manage.. I missed him as soon as he walked out the door 😦

    Oh – and I have a doggy that I sleep with. He has big soulful eyes and his name is Willard. Just because I’m 35 doesn’t mean that I still can’t have my dudu comfort 😉

    All the best for tomorrow, my darling child!!

    xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  7. Melissa G. says:

    I fall apart when my man is gone too.

    Good luck with your ER!!!

Leave a Reply

