One Fertilised Embie

I’m not sure words can describe how sad I am feeling at the way this cycle is working out.  Every hurdle seems to make the journey harder rather than feeling like we are making progress. 

Only one egg fertilised and now we are pinning all our hopes onto this little embie.  And hope is an elusive emotion right now.  When the nurse phoned to tell me, I cried and cried and cried. 

Last cycle we had five follicles which resulted in five eggs, one was damaged during cleaning and of the four remaining three fertilised. 

This cycle, seven follicles, two eggs, one fertilised.

It’s going to be a long wait until the update on our embie tomorrow.  I wish I could go back to sleep and just wake tomorrow when the nurse phones to get the news, then go back to sleep until Monday for transfer, and then go back to sleep only to wake up when the test results are in.  Right now I am trying very hard to take one moment at a time and not write this cycle off.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in fertility Treatment, Infertility, TTC and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One Fertilised Embie

  1. AmandaMqn says:

    I’m just catching up on everything and wanted to give you giant ::hugs:: and lots of love. I am hoping and praying for a rockstar embie. Also, fantastic news on DefTTC’s 1 million count!! Holy cow, that is incredible!

    Also, you won my giveaway. 🙂 Email me your info at hopeisoursblog@gmail.com

  2. kitty8218 says:

    Ah man, I know exactly how you feel. It’s terrifying, heartbreaking and soul destroying all in one. Hang in there. Thinking of you and hoping and praying that your embie is a real little fighter.

    One day at a time…. one hour, one minute, one second……… there is no right and wrong and set ‘rules’ that make or break and IVF. Each one is unique, as is every person….nothing is a given…..

    Please KUP…… may you be granted the strength and courage to get through this
    xxx

  3. Mash says:

    THinking of you, there aren’t any words that can comfort right now I think…

  4. dee says:

    I am really sorry, sadly this is the world of IF. We did 7 cycles of varying results, it was always different. A human body is not a machine, 1 cycle might be good and 1 bad thats how it goes. I know that doesnt help u much now.

    If I can offer just one piece of assvice – you need to look at changing your protocol. With all my Cetrotide cycles I had the worst response and worst quality eggs (I also had suspected PCOS). But lets hope you dont need to go down that road, thinking of that one embie and hoping its perfect in every way.

  5. tasivfer says:

    Ugh. I wish there was something magic I could say that would help at all, but there isn’t. I’ve beent thinking of you. I hope this embie is strong and is *the one*. I have so often wish they’d do a better job with the anestheic so you didn’t have to experience any of the anticipation and the 2WW. There must be some human rights convention that would allow us to demand it! Take care of yourself.

  6. I really hope that the time passes quickly for you. I know what this is like and it is not pleasant.

Leave a Reply

