Not Much… but there is progress

Got the call from the nurse this morning to let us know that our embie has progressed from yesterday where there were two polar bodies in the cell (a sign of fertilisation) to now having two pronuclei (confirmation that fertilisation has definitely taken place).  So it is forward momentum, but I bet most of you have never heard of the two pronulei stage… that’s because what we have here is an extremely slow developer.

And so tomorrow morning (Monday) we head to the clinic holding onto all the hope we can still muster at this stage that this little emb ie is dividing.  If there is no division we go home with a cancelled cycle.  If we have division we go home after transfer.

This weekend has by far been the hardest days of my life.  I cannot believe how much I have cried.  I cannot believe that I have taken this cycle harder than I took the failed cycle.  And I think that is all driven by nerve wracking fear.  Fear that this means my eggs are cr#p.  It is a fear not just the failure of this cycle, but a fear of future failure.  I think this weekend has been the first time since we started treatment that I have actually doubted that we may end this journey with a baby in our arms.

I am struggling so hard to find some hope…

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in fertility Treatment, ivf, TTC and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Not Much… but there is progress

  1. Emmy says:

    I’m so sorry about how this cycle has gone (I’m a little behind in reading). I really hope your embryo continues to grow and do well. Good luck tomorrow.
    I’ll be thinking of you.

  2. Lynese says:

    Strength to you both for tomorrow. The waiting is absolute torture!
    Thinking of you and praying for you.

  3. Gwen says:

    I hate that you’re in this state after you were so full of peace and hope last week. I hate that there’s nothing I can say that will offer any comfort.

    I hope that you have an embie ready for transfer tomorrow morning, I’ll be looking out for your news.

  4. ChrisN says:

    I am so sorry, I wish I could say something to lend you comfort and bring you hope. I can’t. But know I am thinking of you and sending you much strength and love.

  5. Mash says:

    Please, please don’t give up hope. There is so, so much hope xxx

Leave a Reply

