Coming Out the Closet on National TV

Yip you read that right.

Forgive me if you follow my amazing hubby’s blog, because I am about to tell you all about our TV interview, which he has already written about.  But I want to share my perspective because I am so damn excited about this show airing tonight that I can’t hold it in.

So a few weeks back on the Fertilicare Forum Kitty posted that Carte Blanche Medical* were looking for volunteers to talk about Male Factor Infertility.  Yes they were ambitious enough to be looking for men willing to talk about their infertility and their feelings. 

*Carte Blanche is South Africa’s answer to 60 Seconds, a show which does serious investigative journalism, often taking a closer look at the hard issues.  The Medical series is obviously focused on Medical issues.

DefTTC and I talked about it and pondered long and hard.  While both of us were up to doing the interview and talking about our challenges and how we were dealing with them, we had a huge concern about my work situation.  I think I’ve told you before that I am a contractor hoping to go permanent and I really feared that there was no way they would take me on permanently knowing that I am trying very hard to be knocked up, never mind that we haven’t used contraception for seven years!  We also agreed we didn’t want to do the show with our faces blocked out, voices and names changed to protect us from the eyes of the world.  If we were going to do it we would do it openly and proudly.  I left it up to DefTTC to make the decision after all it was him who was going to have to share on National TV the details of his condition.

About a week later I got home from work for DefTTC to tell me that he decided to submit his story that day via their website.  Well within minutes of him telling me this, the phone rang, it was the producer of Carte Blanche who wanted to talk.

Long story short the producer, cameraman and presenter turned up at our house on a Thursday morning a little over three weeks ago to interview us. 

My amazing husband sat in front of a camera and told the world (well probably only South Africans) about our infertility.  He sat up straight, spoke openly and never once flinched from looking the presenter in the eye or blushed no matter how personal the question.  I have to say I’m not sure I have ever been prouder of my man.  He was amazing.  His words brought tears to my eyes a few times as he talked about his side of this terrible journey.  I think we women all too often forget that our men just show us their strong faces.  That all too often they are actually soft as marshmallow inside and hurt just as much as we do.  I think all too often we forget that our men are trying to protect us from further hurt, are trying to be strong for us.  I certainly know that DefTTC is my rock and keeps me on steady ground.

I won’t share the gory details of what we said, because you should all watch Carte Blanche Medical tonight on M-Net at 7pm and get everyone you know to watch it too.  This is about educating people about MFI, about letting them know they are not alone, that there is hope for treatment and that Male Factor Infertility is not something to be ashamed of.

And so last night they showed the preview of our show and our faces went out on National TV on one of the most watched shows in the country.  So we sent out quick SMSs and posted on Facebook and Twitter letting everyone know to watch.  Anyone who is asking why we are simply telling them to watch the show and they will know all about it. 

I imagine we are likely to have quite a few conversations and questions tomorrow…

Once it has aired we are hoping to be able to post the actual video on our blogs, so all our overseas readers will also be able to see how well my hubby did.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility, Male Factor Infertility, TTC and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Coming Out the Closet on National TV

  1. Rebecca says:

    Fabulous! Definitely post a link after if you can, obviously wont get it over here in Australia 🙂

  2. Cstelle says:

    I think you are brave and its nice , now other people can learn more about it

  3. kitty8218 says:

    Yay awesome I’ve been waiting for this!!!! I missed last night I was busy cooking dinner, I’m so bummed, but you better believe that I’ll be glued to that TV tonight! Well done I’m so proud of you two…. very awesome!!! Good luck for your few minutes of fame, looking forward to hearing your story and seeing your faces
    xxx

  4. samcy says:

    You guys are amazing – am looking forward to watching it tonight.

    xxx

  5. Michelle says:

    This is incredible. I am so excited for you both! I can’t wait to see the footage.
    Thank you for the reminder about our men being soft on the inside, I know mine is and I often forget that. 🙂

  6. Wow. I am so impressed with you both. That is such a brave thing to do. I know my husband would have the utmost respect for you guys- can’t wait to share this with him. I hope we get to see the video soon.

  7. dee says:

    Im so proud of you two, just watched the show! It went so well, very very proud of you. The tears just flowed when you said “I can live without children but not without C”. Gosh I was sobbing.

    Just one mistake they made, they said that you guys may need donor eggs, I think they meant donor sperm?

  8. Heather says:

    Wow I am so honoured that today you followed me on twitter! And I had just watched you on TV! Wow! Wow! Wow! It is just amazing, your courage and determination. Please keep in touch and best wishes to you! From a fellow SA infertile!

  9. Pingback: Talk About Telling! « Riding the IVF Roller Coaster

  10. ChrisN says:

    I watched!!! You were both amazing and I for one felt so damn proud of you. You spoke so eloquently and it really was a great segment. Well done to you both, that took amazing courage!!!! I hope you celebrated after the show, you surely do deserve it 🙂

  11. cowgirltn says:

    What an amazing opportunity, Thank you for being so open and honest.

  12. pandoragelb says:

    After I read this I watched it on DSTV Catch up!
    I think it is great, as this should be talked about. I particularly like when your DH said he didn’t do anything wrong, he has a medical condition. That sums it up, really. I hope lots of people were watching! Well done!

  13. Cam says:

    SO proud of you guys – you were brilliant! I hope they do more IF pieces. Thank you for sharing your story and I hope it helps others xxx

Leave a Reply

