How Bizarre

So sorry to everyone who now has another terrible song repeating in their head.  What is it with me that when I start blogging what comes to mind are just those songs you wish you had never heard and then get so stuck in your head!

So we are comfortably into another cycle.  No not one with any treatment, but shock horror – a natural one!  How bizarre!  After all these years it feels like we may be having our first ever natural shot at getting pregnant.  I know we have had sperm for a while now, but until three weeks ago we had so few they wouldn’t even give us a count.  Now we have 1million little swimmers and while I know that is not really enough for natural conception… well – miracles happen and you just never know. 

And so we are having some fun this month.  I do not take my temperature and chart my cycles and my cycles are slightly hard to guess (anything from 22 to 36 days) so we are simply doing the old Baby Dance every couple of days.  My husband has a smile from ear to ear – he thinks Christmas came early!

But it is bizarre.  After such a disastrous cycle last month it seems strange and peculiar to think anything could possibly go our way without medication and medical intervention.  And yet I have hope.  It is a weird kind of hope.  Normally for me hope comes with expectation.  You know you hope you will lose 1kg on the scale this month, but you expect to only loose ½ kg because you weren’t as good as you should have been.  I don’t have any expectation of it working, but still there is hope. 

I seem to have spent so much of my time in the last two years hanging out with people going through ART that I find it almost impossible to believe that babies actually do come from s&x anyway, but yet curiously here we are having a go at this strange concept and seeing if it can work for us too.

In other news I have been so desperately seeking anyone who fell pregnant on their third IVF.  On the Fertilicare Forum there is a poll asking those pregnant or who have had a baby on which cycle they fell pregnant and no one, I repeat NO ONE who has completed the poll has fallen pregnant on their third IVF.  Until this morning I read in someone’s signature of a lady who had success on IVF#3.  And so it does happen, our next cycle doesn’t have to be the one to fill the gap before we can have success on IVF#4.  I know I am slightly crazy, but I also know you guys understand.

And then finally we have tickets to see U2 in Cape Town in February.  Both DefTTC and my step mom both thought we should get seats rather than standing room tickets as I could be pregnant then.  OMW – Imagine  – Me – Pregnant.  I can taste it!!!

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility, ivf, TTC and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to How Bizarre

  1. Kitty8218 says:

    Awesome! That hope is amazing and yes miracles do happen! If anything all the BD can only do good for those little swimmers 😉

    I’m hoping along with you that you get your ‘spontaneously natural BFP’ this very cycle! You and me girlfriend!

  2. Melissa G. says:

    I know what you mean- after our failures last year, we started trying naturally again and I felt the same odd hope as well.

    Here’s TTC au natural, and needing a seat at the show. =)

  3. babybaker says:

    i’m so glad that hope prevails. that’s the only thing that’s gotten me through so many BFNs! fingers crossed you get your miracle!

  4. tasivfer says:

    The two people I knew who had done IVF when I started all those years ago both had a BFP with their 3rd cycle (and both had boys). So 3rd cycle can work!

    And what is this thing s&x you talk about that might get you pregnant? (My husband had a vasectomy a billion years ago, so that’s why we started out on this fun road.) Have fun!

  5. Krissi says:

    Well, I wish you all the best with this natural cycle. I remember when we had a count like that, & thinking that it would be a miracle too if it happened. It only happened with IVF for us.
    As far as cycles I guess it depends on how you look at it and if you’re counting an IVF as a fresh or frozen. On my 3rd cycle (2nd fresh with a frozen in between) I conceived my daughter! When we resorted to IVF again, my next try (4th cycle but 3rd fresh IVF) I got pg but had a chemical. I did 2 more frozen cycles (3rd try with baby #2) before getting pg with my twins who recently turned 1.
    Anyway, good luck! Happy ICLW! (#72 & 106)

  6. Rachel says:

    Have fun this month!

    ICLW #26

  7. Mash says:

    Yay, I’m also going to U2! It’s going to be the best show EVER! And here’s hoping that you are well and truly knocked up by then…

  8. Sweets says:

    Pregnant at the U2 concert!!

    I am not sure if mine counts, but my successful one was on a “third” cycle – first was fresh IVF, and then 2 FETs.

    Good luck this month, may those 1 mil odd guys be fast, strong, and have some tools to make it happen 😉

  9. Sweets says:

    oh, and thanks… I cannot get the song out of my head now.

  10. IVF Hopefull says:

    Successful IVF is a bit hit and miss. My partner and I have been trying for a long time, still with no success. Anyway we still haven’t given up hope.

  11. JenM says:

    You never know, this could be your cycle! (And yes, I know, that is the most annoying thing to hear) Have fun with your Hail Mary 🙂

Leave a Reply

