Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)

Dear Chad and the guys,

I would like to take a moment to say thank you to you amazing, awesome guys in Nickleback.  For nearly a decade you have been impacting on my life with your music and lyrics and got me through some of the highs and lows of the last few years.  Since first hearing “This is how you remind me”  I knew I had found a new ‘love’ to fill the void that Metallica had left in my life.  To give me the rock music I need when I am angry, sad, frustrated, happy, excited, whatever.  And so far you haven’t failed not even once. 

Hearing “Photograph” the first time was like hearing a song I had heard my whole life. Something about that song took me back to my teen years of listening to “Never Say Goodbye” by Bon Jovi on repeat dreaming of how I would never let go of my friends and experiences from those magical (although traumatic and emotionally exhausting) years of being a angst filled teen.  Hearing “Photograph” reminded me of the dreams I had of holding too tightly and reminded me that it’s not healthy to hold on, you have to let go and move forward.

For now though, “Dark Horse” is one of my favourite albums to listen to on those darkest of days.  I can listen to that on repeat in the car for days.  And then I hear the lyrics “If today was your last day”

My best friend gave me the best advice

He said each days a gift and not a given right

Leave no stone unturned, leave your fears behind

And try to take the path less travelled by

That first step you take is the longest stride

 And I it gives me the strength to keep going, to push on  and fight the fear so that I can make my dreams a reality.

Thank you for the strength and power your music brings.  And don’t you think it’s about time you brought out a new album?

Love

Mommy in Waiting

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)

  1. Sarah says:

    I love Nickleback!! I have seen them several times!!

    I love that song too, it is a good reminder of how we should all live our lives!!

    Happy ICLW!!

  2. Angie says:

    Isn’t it amazing how much music can become such an integral part of our lives? I love that song, too.

    Happy ICLW!

  3. Erika says:

    Love the lyrics, probably heard it before, but I am useless with music!
    Will have to go and listen to it now!

Leave a Reply

