Butterfly Kisses

A week ago today (can you believe it is a week already / only a week!?!) was test day.  One week ago today, our lives changed!  Anyway a week ago today, I walked into the office, a complete and utter bundle of nerves about what the day would hold for us, on the ultimate rollercoaster between hope and fear.  I walked into the office and one of my team was playing “Butterfly Kisses”.  No I don’t work at a wedding planners, this is a normal office, but someone was playing the song.

Let me tell you about “Butterfly Kisses”.  I got married in England and my folks flew out from South Africa to be there, my Dad kept saying he had this song he wanted to play for me.  Anyway, he arrived in London only to realise that he had forgotten to bring the CD with him.  So he spent the few days before my wedding trying desperately to track down the CD for us.  I wasn’t paying much attention because after all I had other things on my mind.  Our wedding day came around and when it came time for the Father Daughter dance, on came “Butterfly Kisses”.  It was a perfect moment in a perfect day.  I had never heard the song before and here I was on my wedding day, in my Daddy’s arms hearing him sing along to a song about Butterfly Kisses.  I am a total and utter Daddy’s girl, always have been and always will be.  Yes as a little girl, my atheist father sat next to me and encouraged me to say bed time prayers, yes I rode horses, yes he danced with me at my sweet sixteen and yes we gave each other butterfly kisses all the time!  Needless to say there wasn’t a dry eye in the house.  And in all the nearly 13 years since that day, I can never hear that song and not cry.  

So when I walked in the office a week ago and heard the song, the tears sprang into my eyes.  This time they were tears for my amazing, awesome husband who I married on that day 13 years ago.  This time it was tears thinking about what an amazing father he would be.  And a little ray of hope snuck into my heart as I headed down to the clinic to get that blood drawn, a tiny spark that maybe, just maybe hearing that song was a sign that I would get to make my husband a Daddy!

And well you know how that day progressed.  My hubby is now a Daddy-in-Waiting!  He is going to be the awesomest Daddy in the whole wide world. 

So we popped around to friends on Monday night, they wanted to have us around to celebrate our BFP even though just two days before they had heard that their IVF#2 was a BFN!  And they gave us a present, a beautiful scrap book with Butterflies all over it!

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in family, Friendship, Pregnancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Butterfly Kisses

  1. samcy says:

    What a wonderful way to remember the day you got your BFP and the celebrations that are coming out of it.

    I love Butterflies – they are such symbols of hope and love.

    xxx

  2. Sweets says:

    What a beautiful memory 🙂

  3. darylfaure says:

    I also danced with my Dad to Butterfly kisses, at our wedding. Still makes me cry every time I hear it. How are you doing? I know the anticipation of your first scan is killing me.

  4. Kitty8218 says:

    WOW!!!! The angels were most definately at play for sure xxx

  5. Elphaba says:

    What a great story 🙂

  6. Kristen says:

    Congrats on your positive pregnancy test! Hope all goes well for you!

  7. Mrs. D says:

    Oh my gosh – what a wonderful, beautiful post! I love the memories associated with it.

    Congratulations on your BFP! So excited for you to start this journey… I will be following from here on out 🙂

    Happy ICLW and thanks for stopping by my blog!

  8. Visiting from ICLW…
    What a beautiful post and a beautiful story to share with your little one in the years to come. Congrats on your BFP!

  9. ebc says:

    what a wonderful moment during such an exciting time for you!

  10. Shona says:

    What absolutely wonderful friends you ahve that they wanted to help celebrate even though they had good news.

    I like that you have a special song. We don’t have a song like that.

  11. Amanda says:

    Beaufitul. Just beautiful. I’m so happy you had such a perfect moment 🙂

    ICLW

Leave a Reply

