Introducing Sausage and Pudding

No this is not a weird pregnancy craving, these are our amazing miracle twins.  Yes the scan on Friday went beautifully and we saw two perfect heartbeats.

When Dr S stuck the old wand in, I got mild palpitations as I was sure I was seeing three sacs, but thank goodness once he stopped wriggling the wand around we could see two clear sacs.  He said “Congratulations you have a twin pregnancy!”  He was grinning ear to ear, so was Sr Smiley and Chris and I just couldn’t take our eyes off the screen.  He then started zooming in and doing measurements.  Sausage (located towards the left) measured exactly 7 weeks and little Pudding 6 weeks 4 days (which is exactly where our clinic calculate I was on Friday).  Those tiny heartbeats are the most amazing thing to see, they are so small it is almost as though it is just a couple of pixels on the screen that are switching on and off. 

After the scan Dr S really took time with us chatting about the pregnancy.  I am  on strict instructions NO exercise except walking, sex is okay (although Chris is insisting that Dr S said Sex was essential!) and only Folic Acid and B6 as vitamins.  He agreed to let us go back again this Friday for our next scan, then again the week after, then we will see the Gynie for our first appointment at 10 weeks.  So we will be having 4 scans in a little over 4 weeks!  He then gave me a HUGE hug!

When we walked out the scan room all the nurses were waiting outside to hear our news!  They said they had all been nervous for us this morning.  There was lots of excitement in the clinic on Friday morning, it really did feel as though everyone was celebrating with us.  The accountant congratulated us and Greg (the embryologist) came out to congratulate us too.

Chris is now adding his final few samples to our frozen collection of sperm, in case we ever want more kids, and then he is finally coming off the injections.  Have I told you how my husband is my hero!  He has participated so fully in this whole process to get us knocked up.  He has taken every injection without a moment of complaint, he has been supportive and awesome through every mood and fear and irrational moment I have had along the way.  I know I have the very best partner for me standing beside me holding my hand as we embark on bringing our twins into the world. 

I do have pictures and I will get them scanned in so you can see our gorgeous Sausage and Pudding for yourselves, but we pretty much left for the hills soon after the scan.  We had a beautiful weekend camping in the Cedarberg and LOTS of rest, relaxation and eating.  And every now and again I had to pinch myself to believe that this really is real, Sausage and Pudding are ours and they are well and I LOVE them!

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Introducing Sausage and Pudding

  1. Marianne says:

    What amazing news! Congrats!

  2. TasIVFer says:

    How wondrous! What a special memory of this first weekend away as a family of 4 it will be!! 🙂

  3. Pamela says:

    aaaaaaah… I have tears in my eyes… You guys deserve it… xxxx

  4. Olive Niemand says:

    (twitter)
    Hi you, thank you so much for sharing your story with others!!! Congrats to you and your hubby! You are a very lucky woman getting two little ones and having a husband that stand by you every moment!!

    Congrats and remember to enjoy every little thing!!!

    Greetings
    Olive Niemand

  5. Yvonne says:

    I am so happy for you! What an exciting journey you have ahead of you. Twins, how awesome! Btw – just saw your tweet – marmite on toast is also my favourite thing so far in this pregnancy. Good luck with the queasiness hope it doesn’t get too bad.

  6. Kitty8218 says:

    awesome awesome news, so very very very happy for you……

  7. Cam says:

    So special xxxxx

  8. Heather says:

    that is just awesome… I am so happy for you!

  9. darylfaure says:

    Still can’t stop smiling for you guys! Better tell Chris to update his blog. Been awhile it seems and the kids need to hear from Dad.

  10. Sharon says:

    Absolutley thrilled for you guys!

  11. Magic Mama says:

    AHHHHH! Jumping up and down with joy for you guys 🙂

  12. teejay says:

    Yay for Sausage and Pudding! So glad that everything looks great and that you were able to have a relaxing trip! Wonderful news!

  13. Erin says:

    So glad that all is well– aren’t baby heartbeats magic? And I’m so happy for you that you’ll be able to peek at your kiddos so frequently; it makes it a little more real.

  14. Kim says:

    Congratulations on your twins!! I have been wondering how your scan went. Wishing you all the best for the remainder of your pregnancy.

  15. Jenni says:

    Congratulations! That’s awesome!

  16. zygotta says:

    congratulations, this is so awesome to hear!
    are the two babies really 4 days apart? I didn’t know this could happen

    and I really enjoyed the pixel description of the heartbeat
    I have never seen one…

  17. Foxypopcorn says:

    oh my gawd – wait let me say that again, OH MY GAWD! This is really exciting news. Really really! like x2 exciting!!

    Our husbands really are heros to go thru so much, to be so committed to the process.

    We have our first scan on Monday, and I am starting to feel the nerves. oh my golly goodness, now they are mixed with excitement about what we might find waiting for us!

  18. Pingback: Camping with the Hope Babes | Mommy-at-Last

Leave a Reply

