My Man Keeping Our Lives Ticking Over

My amazing hubby really deserves a special award.  He has been an absolute gem over the last couple of months where I have slowly but sure become less and less useful and more and more pathetic.  And not for a second have I had snide comments, jibes about my laziness or a second of complaint or sighing or rolled eyes (well at least not in front of me).  You see the first trimester is totally unsexy, hard going and not the glowing time I was hoping for at all.

Actually the first few weeks were great.  I was thrilled, excited, glowing, I was tired and nauseous, but nothing I couldn’t cope with.  Then the last month  happened.  Slowly but surely pregnancy become less and less sexy and more and more gross.  Nausea that started as occasional, especially if I got hungry, became a constant hangover feeling and then developed into tasting my food twice, once on the way down and the next time… enough said.

The wonderful people in my family are built with an overdeveloped gag reflex.  My Dad, Brother and myself all gag when we are brushing our teeth.  The really, lovely “calling huey” sound of gagging.  Gagging so hard that your feet lift off the ground.  Now imagine that if this is what happens without pregnancy hormones to drive it what morning sickness has been like for my poor hubby to live with.  I can gag just thinking about food now, I gag if I get hungry, I gag if I think about how sick I was earlier in the day, I gag if I move too quickly or too much.  Then there is the gag which is appliance related (???bizarre I know), I gag if I open the fridge (everything in there smells disgusting to me, but Chris can’t smell anything).  I gag if I go into the dishwasher before it is clean, I gag when I open the dustbin to throw things away.

And then if I’m really lucky gagging turns to puking.  The kind where it comes out your nose.  Where you puke so hard that you wet your pants.  (yes, laugh away, I have to laugh, it’s all I can do!)  And my darling hubby comes and helps hold my hair, or just strokes it to let me know he is there.  He brings me water, he has
a theory that if I swallow it will beat the gag reflex – sometimes it works, sometimes not so much, but the water is always welcome to rinse with afterwards.   And because of the appliance gag reflex he has had to pack the dishwasher, tidy the kitchen, pack our lunch, cook the food because all of those things can have me running for the loo.  If he even tries to discuss what I want for dinner (a very difficult conversation because the thought of ALL food makes me want to puke) I can be gagging.  So all the pressure is on him.

I think what he is enjoying is the fact that I am NOT obsessing in the usual way about us eating at least three veggies every night with our dinner.  In fact at the moment it is a real struggle to eat one veggie a night, there is something about vegetables that (yes you guessed it) makes me gag!  It seems completely bizarre to me that when your body (and that of your babies) needs most to be taking in a healthy balanced diet, that is exactly when your body rejects everything that is good for it.  And so my angel husband struggles to figure out what to feed us (all four of us) that might be a little healthy, that might stay down and not bring out the gag reflex.  And then never says a word if I don’t eat any of it, or only eat a few mouthfuls or is there to stroke my head if I do eat it and it comes back!

And when I have to get up in the middle of the night for snacks or full blown breakfast at 2am, he doesn’t complain at his broken sleep, he asks me if I am okay.  Or when I wake him up for the third time as I get up to pee, or roll over and queeze him out the bed so there is room for both me and my pillows, he just cuddles up and holds my hand.

Have I not married the most amazing husband in the world.  Is he not going to be the best ever father!  And so I wanted to say a massive THANK YOU to my amazing hubby who has kept our lives ticking over and looked after me so beautifully through the tough last few weeks.  Honey I am really hoping the end is in sight and there might be some rewards for you in the second trimester!

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Man Keeping Our Lives Ticking Over

  1. Mash says:

    You are a very lucky gal! And what struck me reading this, is how incredibly wanted these children are. My goodness you’ve both gone through so much to have them!

  2. Dee says:

    I remember uncontrollable gagging when i saw the foam from the toothpaste. Yuk, even thinking about it now makes me feel ill. I know it isnt fun now but one day you will look back with fond memories!

  3. darylfaure says:

    He sure does sound like an angel in disguise. Hope you feel better soon Juanita, but in the mean time, count your blessings that you have Chris as a husband.

  4. Cam says:

    Oh my word Juanita!!! I have just realised reading your post how lucky I am that my MS was not this bad – thank goodness I haven’t had full blown voms…just 24/7 queasies. That must be so hectic. But what a treasure you have as a DH – he has been so wonderful!! My DH has moved to another room to help me get sleep as everytime I get up to pee when I get back I can’t go back to sleep because he is breathing too loudly…poor man…hopefully this won’t be forever LOL! They are so special.

  5. janet says:

    That post is soooooo true…I remember all of it like it was yesterday. But rest assured it does pass….well accept for the constant peeing, and after the babies come I will tell you that I still pee when I puke and my twins are four…..hang in there, the second trimester is in sight….

  6. zygotta says:

    wow – aren’t you lucky!
    really, truly, awesome you got yourself

    wish you to leave all the gagging behind you as fast as possible!

  7. marianne says:

    Oh I hope you feel better soon! And I hope this is not waiting for me in a few weeks 🙂

  8. Heather says:

    so glad you have him to help you along the way!
    by the way stop over by my blog – the mother’s day post – I have given you an award 🙂

  9. teejay says:

    I hope you and your hubby get some relief soon. I, too, have a very sensitve gag reflex. I was about to gag just reading your post. 🙂 I get “spitty mouth” very easily, too. You have a great man and yes, I’m sure he will be a great daddy.

  10. tasivfer says:

    Chris is just GREAT! My husband’s been quite supportive, but sometimes just doesn’t understand.

  11. samcy says:

    Our men are the unheralded hero’s in pregnancy… altho Cliff is getting a bit miff with my early morning snoring of late *wink*

    It’s all going to be so worth it my friend – hang in there!

    xxx

  12. Cstelle says:

    Sorry you have been through such a rough time!!!

  13. You and Chris will be such awesome parents, J!

    I’m sorry that the m/s is so bad. Blech! I remember it so well and feel sick just thinking of it now – and they say it’s even worse with twins. Hang in there, hun. It really will pass (even though it doesn’t make things better at the moment) and it will be sooooo worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

