A Perfect Pair

This morning was our 13 week foetal assessment scan and WOW what an experience! I can honestly say it is the most incredible thing ever. From our last scan just over two weeks ago the change in the kids is incredible. They now seem to move with intent and literally flipped themselves around in their sacs, waved their tiny hands (which you can see every little finger on) at us and sucked in amniotic fluid.

Shannon who did our scan was incredible. She explained everything as she went and seemed to examine every tiny millimetre of each baby. Both babies are measuring perfectly on track at 13 weeks and 13 weeks 1 day (I am 13 weeks today). She did cross sections through their heads to check skull bones and the two clear hemisphere’s of their brains. She pointed out their tiny clavicles, the perfect four chambered hearts beating away, the umbilical cord going into their tummies and the arteries feeding them from the umbilical’s. She measured arms and legs and head diameter and counted fingers and examined the placentas (which have both attached on the same side of the uterus). Both nasal bones were very clear and their nuchal folds are nice and small (1.92 and 2.26 – under 3 is low risk). And through it all she kept explaining what she was doing and why and what the measurements were and pointing things out to us and she kept saying, “good” or “great” or “nice” or (my favourite) “perfect”.

Then she wanted to know whether we wanted to know their sex and we said “duh”, no actually we said “YES!”. She went straight to Baby B (who we more lovingly call Sausage) and focussed in on the bum area and showed us a tiny little bit sticking up and there is our boy! Then she went to little Baby A (Pudding), and tried again to focus in on the bum area. She struggled a bit and said she had saved a picture in case she couldn’t see it again, but then, she pointed out three lines and said “here’s your little girl”. I have to admit to starting to sob at that time. Somehow knowing the sex made it so real for me.

For the first time I am starting to believe that I am actually carrying to perfect little human beings in miniature. Two perfect babies who have made it to the second trimester looking great. Chris sat and shed a tear or two (or maybe more than that) at various points through the scan. He held my hand so tight and squeezed every time there was something extra special to see. And when Shannon walked out the room afterwards he gave me such a loving and deep kiss. That’s my Babies’ Daddy!!!

So now the real fun of the second trimester begins. First off the nausea is easing. I still puke most days, but am getting an occasional day off (YAH for that). But now comes the period of preparing for their arrival. We have a nursery to prepare, millions of things to buy, and I am now ready to just soak up the positive experience and enjoy my baby girl and boy growing inside me. We have already started an occasional classic music listening fest for them and the Doppler was out again last night so we could listen to them. I think bed time stories come next… or am I getting ahead of myself. I am feeling so excited and happy.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Music, Pregnancy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Perfect Pair

  1. Sweets says:

    Yay!

    So happy for you guys.

    Enjoy the shopping 😉

  2. Lesley says:

    I can’t read about or even think about S and P without my eyes filling up with happy tears. Congrats to Mom and Dad to be!

  3. christelle says:

    Wonderful news Now is blue and Pink!!!

  4. Cam says:

    Yipppeeee I was right Yeah!!! That scan is the best…and you get to watch the dvd again! So so so special and seems so right that Sausage is the boy and cute little Pudding the girl 🙂 xx

  5. zygotta says:

    I shed a few tears just reading this!
    especially this: “carrying to perfect little human beings in miniature”
    i am so happy for you!

  6. darylfaure says:

    The Nuchal Scan is just the best. Isn’t it incredible that they are still so tiny, and yet perfect little human beings. Makes me catch my breath every time just thinking about it. So so happy for you and Chris. Wish I could have been a fly on the wall.

  7. Melissa G says:

    What a lovely post. So wonderful to feel the joy in your words.

    Congrats on the boy and girl!

  8. Emily Erin says:

    So Chris was right all along– didn’t he address his blog to a boy and a girl; the children he hoped to one day have? So happy for you two!

  9. Shana says:

    Amazing! Congrats!

  10. Pamela says:

    WOW WOW WOW. VEELS GELUK!!!! YOU GUYS DESERVE YOUR PERFECT LITTLE PAIR… I am so happy for you… xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  11. It’s simply delicious to picture you and your DH with your pigeon pair! This news is just too delightful, J! Many congrats on your perfect miracle.

  12. marianne says:

    What a wonderful scan!!! And one of each…could there be anything more perfect?? AWESOME!

  13. Yvonne says:

    Amazing Amazing news!!!! So very happy for you!

  14. Kristin says:

    Congrats on having such a wonderful scan. I am so very happy you’ve reached the second trimester.

    ICLW #6

  15. Heather says:

    Congratulations!!!!! So happy for you!!

  16. C says:

    I found your blog through ICLW. Congratulations on your wonderful news! A great tech makes all the difference during scans. Thrilled that you have such a great report!

    Best wishes!

  17. SurlyMama says:

    Congrats on two beautiful babies! So excited for you. Stopping by for ICLW. It’s wonderful to stop in on such a wonderful post. Best of luck to you and your little ones.

  18. Nicola says:

    Wonderful, gorgeous, perfect news! I got so emotional reading this post, reminded me of hubby and my struggle and our first few scans and subsequent babies. It is so miraculous and perfect. So deserving! Yay!

  19. Bratty says:

    Big congratulations…I am so relieved I was at 50% right…smile

  20. That is so wonderful. A pink and a blue. How sweet!

  21. Jamie says:

    Hello and congratulations from ICLWland! I am SO happy for you! Wishing all 4 of you the very best of luck moving forward!

  22. Jen says:

    Congrats on your little boy and girl!!! How exciting! I have a sneaking suspicion I’ll find out Thursday we’ve got twins too. I’m going to keep up with your blog. Thanks for sharing. Happy ICLW!!!

    ICLW #121

  23. teejay says:

    What a great experience to have…seeing your babies. You must be thrilled. Have fun shopping for all your gear. A couple of my other bloggies have recently posted about their favorite twin gear. Continued good wishes!

  24. samcy says:

    I was so so happy for you to see this news on Twitter first and now reading it here. I was also right btw 😉

    Enjoy this time bonding with your son and your daughter – for me too knowing the gender of my child made it so much more REAL.

    So excited and happy for you.

    xxx

  25. Randi says:

    WOW!! This was so exciting to read I cried and then read it out loud to my hubby!! I am new to your blg, but can’t wait to keep up from now on. Our embryo transfer is Monday morning!! Hope we are as lucky as you!! 🙂 xoxo ICLW

Leave a Reply

