An Update

It’s totally pathetic that I haven’t updated you guys in so long on how things are going, it is funny I have drafted so many posts in my head, but finding the time and energy has proven harder than anticipated.  So here I sit in Jo’burg on a business trip and I find myself with some time to spare for a decent update.  Grab yourself a smoothy (if you are cycling, pregnant or breastfeeding) or a coffee or stiff drink, kick back, relax and get the last three weeks update all in one hit (unless I run out of energy).

So the last post I was in a blissed out place.  I actually had a run of FIVE whole days where I didn’t vomit, but it didn’t last, I still vomit most days, but I am definitely better, no nausea, just the vomiting in the morning – I guess morning sickness in the truest sense of the word, it’s what I thought all morning sickness was (in my total and utter ignorance).  Yup I am practically 18 weeks and I STILL Have morning sickness and what does my doctor say about this… He shrugs his shoulders and says “Twins”.  I was really struggling with severely low energy, way worse than anything I experienced in the first trimester, and what did my doctor say… He shrugged his shoulders and said “Twins”.  In fact he did recommend a natural energy tonic, caffeine free (Vita-thion) which I have been taking, but I self diagnosed with some help from my MIL a case of anaemia and have put myself on some iron supplements and am definitely feeling much more on top of the world.  I can feel weight in my uterus, not sore, but definite pressure, a little disconcerting. And the doc… shrugged and said “Twins”.  And  I have been getting breathless very easily, sometimes just walking form the couch to the kitchen to get a drink can have me panting and puffing. And what does my doctor say…  He shrugged and said “Twins”.  In addition I often feel my heart beat right in my throat, it feels as though I am having palpitations or that my heart will simply climb out my chest.  And what did my doctor say… No, this time he shugged and said “Good!”.  Whaaaaat?!?  He went on to explain that when you are pregnant with a single baby your blood volume goes up between 40-50%, but with twins it’s between 80-100% and your heart has to work soooo much harder, so the fact that I can feel it beating means it is doing it’s work.

I guess what all these symptoms add up to is that this pregnancy is proving to be much harder than I anticipated.  I mean I knew intellectually that a twin pregnancy is harder than a singleton, but the reality has been a little bit of a shock to my system.  I did not expect all of this sooooo early.  In fact my doctor told me to stop thinking of myself as 16 weeks pregnant (that’s where I was when I saw him) and to double that to being 32 weeks along!  And then all of a sudden the symptoms seem to be happening at the right time.  Only problem is that means I will be pregnant (in this head space way) for between 72 and 80 weeks!

On the up side, I am still feeling blissed out even if not the most healthy.  I am so loving having a belly.  It is absolutely awesome to have this roundness that stops me bending over and gets in the way and protrudes.  It is the most beautiful reminder of the miracle inside.  I am totally in love with my body (possibly for the first time in my whole life).  I LOVE being pregnant, I love the feeling of living this dream come true.  I am sometimes totally overwhelmed by the life growing inside.  The emotions are immense and so varied, but the excitement is really building and the fear is starting to ease.  It is starting to feel like this is actually happening to us.

Chris is already proving what an amazing Dad he is going to be.  Not that I ever doubted it for a second.  His protectiveness has trebled and the way he looks at me with such wonder (especially if he is checking out my preggie belly) and love completely melts my heart.  It feels (if this was ever possible) as though we have become sooo much closer.  So much more together, so in tune.

He has been pushing me to stop procrastinating and start making some progress with the getting together of the big things for the kids.  So Thursday we emptied the nursery of the spare room furniture moved it into the old office and Chris is hopefully going to paint the nursery this weekend while I am out of town (work dependant).  I have finally ordered the pram, did I tell you about my pram???  Oh I will save it for when it gets here from the UK and I can include photos.  And I think we have made a decision on the cots and compactum, in fact Chris has threatened to order them this weekend just to stop me changing my mind AGAIN.  The car seats are proving to be a complete nightmare.  We finally made a decision on Sunday, placed our order only to be told yesterday that those car seats have been discontinued!!!  But again I think we are making progress and I have people from almost all the baby shops in Cape Town phoning me, emailing me and trying to help me make up my mind.  In fact it is getting embarrassing that no matter which baby shop I walk into they greet me and ask how the twins are doing… oops, guess I am proving to be the customer from hell (but did we ever doubt it would be so?)

And the twins I hear you ask

They are doing brilliantly.  Well they were the last time we saw them.  I really wish I was totally loaded so I could just buy my own scanning machine, I think I would make it a 3D and 4D machine just to ensure the very best quality pictures.  Two weeks ago, they were growing beautifully and on track.  In fact our little girl was measuring a week ahead.  It was so cute to see them going at it in there, it really did look as though they were having a bit of a kickboxing match, legs going ten to the dozen and arms flailing.  In fact  I fear a little for our son that he may be bullied by his ‘big’ sister.  Just adorable.  I could happily have laid on that bed for hours watching them.  I haven’t listened to them on the Doppler for a whole week (just not had much time) and now I am in total withdrawal and am thinking of making up some excuse to pop into a clinic here in Jo’burg for a scan so I can check up on them.  I won’t I am fairly sure I can wait to Monday to be back home with the Doppler.  As for movement, well other than that first very clear movement three weeks ago, not very much.  There are days I can feel a definite movement as in a weird queasy feeling of my tummy turning over and I do often imagine (or maybe feel) pushes here and there, but it’s not distinct enough for my liking yet.  I simply
cannot wait to feel definite kicks, and even more than that I can’t wait for Chris to be able to feel that too.

Okay there is still more to say in me, but it will wait for another day.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Twins and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to An Update

  1. Maryna says:

    Loved your update, J!

    I’m sorry that you’re not feeling energetic and healthy, but wouldn’t have expected that, hey… TWINS, after all.

    My pregnant sister is still vomiting in the mornings at 34 weeks – m/s can be such a b&tch.

    All the best with the baby shopping! I have no idea how people managed to rear kids before the days of baby shops!

  2. Teejay says:

    Great update. It is amazing how much the body changes to accommodate a pregnancy. I hope things sort of even out for you soon. I can’t tell you how many times the husband and I have struggled to agree on a purchase only to find out that it is out of stock or discontinued. I hope you can find everything you need without too much more stress. I love hearing about the babies doing flips and “fighting”…too cute.

  3. Kitty8218 says:

    Welcome! Such a nice newsy post, so glad everything is going okay! Load us a couple pics of that belly and the twins 🙂

  4. Gwen says:

    Hmmhmm, wait until you can SEE the kicks, let alone feel them!

    Sounds like you’re feeling grim and great at the same time. I hope you do get a few weeks of glowy, morning-sickness free second trimester before the tiring last few weeks. I also self-diagnosed anaemia at much the same stage of my pregnancy and made my ob do a blood test which was of course normal. He recommended that I take Magnesit supplements and Formance milkshakes but I can’t say they made a huge difference.

    Good luck with your nursery, I’m consumed with curiosity about your pram!

  5. Yvonne says:

    It was great to hear your update! So glad all is well! Hope the m/s goes away soon!
    Yvonne

  6. C says:

    Congrats on your pregnancy! Sounds like things are going as well as can be expected. Hope you start feeling better soon, and good luck with the baby gear. It can be overwhelming.

    ICLW

  7. Magic Mama says:

    Great update! Sorry you’re feeling so cruddy. Eye on the prize! 🙂

  8. Miela says:

    I really enjoyed your update. I hope you will feel a little less green very soon. I am also so glad that everything on track. 16 weeks- I can almost not believe it.

  9. tasivfer says:

    So lovely hearing from you!! And so lovely hearing how you sound – HAPPY! You sound so blissfully happy!!! 😀

  10. zygotta says:

    Yay – go twins, go!
    And hope your nausea leaves you alone, soon!

  11. marianne says:

    Sorry you’re still sick but so glad the babies are doing well!

  12. Kinnie says:

    I am so glad to see everything is going so well with you and the twins. Hope the MS will give you a break soon and remember you will not have MS and be pregnant forever, so try and enjoy as well. In a year from now, there will be times that you will wish you were still preggies and will miss that belly as well. Enjoy the shopping for twins, it is fun and you have a valid reason for spending some money.

  13. Cam says:

    Yay an update 🙂
    I am also just realising that things may be more hectic than just knowing the theory of a twin pregnancy…eeeeek….really hope you and I both have it easy for the 2nd half…!!! x

  14. Great update because so honest.
    It must be hard to carry twins! I hope your body will cooperate nicely and carry “healthy” even if it gives signs of tiredness and m/s. Take care of yourself as much and as good as possible, Dear !!

    As for the twins, I am sure they are growing as they should, blissfully ignorant of the m/s and tiredness you are going through, … I guess that is just the “magic of parenthood” already !!

    Thinking of you and Chris.

  15. Lindsey says:

    Hello from ICLW! Congratulations on the twins. You sound so happy, yet worried, yet ecstatic, and that is wonderful!

  16. Hi,
    Hope the nausea goes away fast but like they say eye on the price! And your price is TWICE as nice

    Congrats on your pregnancy, I have only started to ready your blog now and your journey have been long!!

  17. Shona says:

    I loved being pregnant and having a belly too. My belly at moment is growing but not so big it stops me doing things, like bending over.

    I have always been lucky though as have never had any morning (or afternoon or evening!) sickness. Sorry to hear you are feeling sick all the time.

  18. Queenie says:

    Congratulations on your twins! I hope the morning sickness resolves soon.

  19. Kristin says:

    It sounds like things are going wonderfully. Take care and take it as easy as you can.

    ICLW #10

  20. darylfaure says:

    Good to hear from you again! Glad all is well with you all. Busy catching up on everyone’s blogs as my computer has been playing up. Belly pics please.

  21. jen says:

    glad to hear things are going well! We need some belly pics!

  22. Here from ICLW #118. Wow. Twins. One of each and perfect. Enjoy every moment.

  23. Hope11 says:

    Had a little cry when I read this, am so happy that you are loving every moment, you truly deserve it!

Leave a Reply

