Honeymoon

What a precious and special phase we have now entered.  These little munchkins are so busy in there and moving so much and I love every little twitch and kick and odd sensation of their movement.   What was just a once off is now Chris being able to feel them regularly and I just have to talk to them everytime they let me know they are awake.   Having now entered (finally) the honeymoon phase of pregnancy it seems almost impossible to remember how hard it has been and it all just seems sunshine and roses.  Maybe this is why people don’t warn you that pregnancy is not always the easiest.

In fact on Saturday I woke up so full of the joys of life and so thrilled with being pregnant and feeling great that I was singing in the car (pathetic “I feel pretty” from West Side Story – one of my favourite classics which Chris hates :-)).  So I had to explain to Chris how awesome I was feeling, so happy that I could just cry… and then I did just that – cried pure tears of joy and wonder.  Yes I guess the pregnancy hormones are washing through me.

Friday was had our fetal anomaly scan (22 weeks) and it was by far the best scan yet.  How awesome that we got to see our little wormies wriggling away for over an hour.  (Yes I will post pictures as soon as I have scanned them in).  Both babies are perfect, perfect in every way.  Measuring on track, the gap between them has closed nicely and she is now only 8grams bigger than him at 503g and him coming in at 495g.  It seems our boy is getting his own back at his sister for all the early bullying behaviour and he is now sitting on her head and kicking her regularly.  Actually in some amazing feat of flexibility she managed to kick him back at one point.  I had imagined them fighting in the back seat of the car in a few years time and us being able to say how when they were tiny in my womb they loved each other and were nice to each other, but it seems we have two feisty little ones.  The sonographer tried to be diplomatic and suggested that he was giving her an indian head massage with his toes, but really we could all see the truth…  We were also given a DVD of 22 minutes of the scan and it is just amazing the level of detail that we can see now.  Yes I have already watched the DVD twice!

Cutest Twin Pram EVER!

It’s been a pretty busy few weeks on the preparation front.  Last weekend we started painting the mural onthe nursery walls and made further excellent progress yesterday (Yes photos will be coming up soon).  The nursery no longer looks like a spare room, it now actually looks like it is getting ready to house two babies.  I am so chuffed.  I also picked up oour car seats last week – very happy with our choice and Saturday our adorable twin pram arrived.  I promised pics of it so here it is.  It really is as cute as it looks in the picture and turns on a ticky and fits through all the doors in our house (yes I tested!).  I woke up on Sunday morning and wondered down the passage and there it was where we had left it and suddenly I could imagine our long awaited babies snuggled up in their pram with me as proud as any new mother pushing my precious babies around chest all puffed out!

So much to look forward to in the coming few months, besides the obvious:
  • 24 weeks scan – 4 August
  • 4D Scan – 11 August
  • Fertilicare Cape Town Meet Up – 20 August
  • Antenatal classes start – 24 August
  • Finish work – 2 September (at 28 weeks)
  • Labour Ward Tour – 3 September
  • Family arrive in town for my sister’s 21st – end September – too far away, wish they were all local.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Twins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Honeymoon

  1. I SERIOUSLY love that pram. I am so glad that you are having a fab time and enjoying everything. I’m also glad that everything is going well.

  2. What a nice and happy post ! Great all is going so well with your LOs and that you enjoy your pregnancy so much now !! The pram is really cute ! And what is also very cute is to hear you say after every scan : “it was the best scan” …. Soo sweet ;-))
    All the very best and looking forward to the pictures !!

  3. Cam says:

    Hee hee – that pram is outrageously cute!!!! Can’t wait to see pics of the nursery progress :). Clearly our boys are going to be fiesty as they are both sitting in their sister’s heads lol! Roll on week 28 – am soooo jealous you going off work then – I am going to try stick it out to 33 weeks eeeeeeeeek 🙂 xxx

  4. darylfaure says:

    Love the pram! Just makes me broody again. so glad you are loving this second trimester. Enjoy my friend.

  5. Sweets says:

    How cute is that pram!

  6. Heather says:

    I love your header picture – really cute lion cubs!
    And the pram is just awesome.
    Glad things have worked out for you.

  7. Coco says:

    Wonderful! A happy post and so glad to hear you are enjoying your pregnancy. That pram is seriously cute! Love the nursery, can’t wait to see when it is finish. Enjoy every moment you guys!

  8. I am so very happy for you. Note that you are the first pregnant woman to whom i have ever said or felt this. xxx

Leave a Reply

