24 Weeks

So last Thursday we had our 24 week scan with the OB.  It was probably the first appointment where I wasn’t complaining about how tired I am.  I know this will not last long, but I am just lapping it up while I can.

So our gorgeous babies are doing beautifully.  Both growing so well, our boy now at 753g and girl at 773, both measuring about a week ahead.  So she is still the bigger and definitely more active, but I’m not sure how many times the doc said “wow they are busy and active”.  He actually had a bit of a hard time distinguishing between the two babies because things are getting a little tight in there and when he tried to see Baby Boy, she kept sticking her bum in the way :-).

She is head down and in perfect position for a natural birth (not that we are being allowed that option) with her little feet under my ribs and giving me some hefty blows on a regular basis.  He has his head under my ribs and prefers to kick Mommy in the cervix.

Doc said they both still have plenty of fluid and my cervix is still an amazing 52mm!  He said no problem going to 40 weeks!  But then booked our ceasar date for 14th November when I will be 38 weeks and 3 days!   I mentioned to him the Braxton Hicks I have had, and mentioned that one night they went on for quite a while and were fairly regular (every 10 minutes), he said it is a little early, but wasn’t concerned because my cervix is still so long.  He did change his mind at this point though and said that our next appointment could be in two weeks rather than the four he was originally pushing for, just to watch things.

We walked out of there on cloud nine that things continue to go so well and that the news continues to be so positive at every appointment.  And somehow having a date has made it so very real.  It is only 98 days* (at the most) until these precious babies are in our arms.

Saturday our cots and compactum arrived and I spent a little time sorting through the little things we have been given already and putting her clothes and toys in her cot and his stuff in his cot.  WOW it is getting exciting and everytime I walk past the nursery I am blown away that finally that spare room has it’s true purpose and is looking the part.

Thursday we have our 4D scan!  Can’t wait for another peek at them.  Aren’t I extremely lucky to have so many scans?

* if you follow me on Twitter you will be wondering at my maths, seeing as I said it was 100 days in the middle of last week, but that was assuming arrival on 11 Nov (38 weeks), which obviously has been shifted based on the ceasar date.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Twins and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 24 Weeks

  1. Waw, getting very real and very exciting !!
    Glad that everything is going so well with your LOs, that you are feeling great and Congrats on doing such a good job, growing TWO little humans !!

  2. christelle says:

    Exciting stuff!!!!! Did you get my email I send??

  3. Lesley says:

    You are super spoiled to have so many scans… Enjoy!

  4. Kitty8218 says:

    Awesome news what a blessing that they are doing so well. So very exciting! Can’t wait to see the pics of the little Munchkins xxx

  5. Cam says:

    So great all going to well! Your cervix is so fab! Imagine going to 40 weeks lol! SO awesome you going for 4D scan again…I have to wait until 28 weeks – ;( maybe I should move it up!!! xx

  6. Congrats on 24 weeks! Glad you have your energy back….enjoy it 🙂 Hope all goes well with your scan!

  7. Maryna says:

    Such exciting times, J! I hope today’s 4D scan was even amazing and that you could get a peek at those little faces.

    I’m glad that you’re feeling OK at the moment. Enjoy having your treasures so close at all times and not having to share them with anyone else yet!

  8. tasivfer says:

    38 weeks and 3 days is the PERFECT time to give birth! 😉

  9. Hope all is ok.
    Will be away and just wanted to wish you all the best !!

  10. Jessica says:

    Congratulations on 24 weeks! Sounds like all is going well and the doctor sounds pleased with how everything looks!

    ICLW
    Jess
    Life in the White House

  11. Krissi says:

    Wow! That is so very exciting! I do hope you make it to your c date! I went at 37 weeks 2 days with my twins (also boy/girl) and the c was scheduled the day before. I was pretty proud of myself for getting that far! It can be quite difficult! I nearly fell off my chair when I read that your doc said you could go all the way to 40 weeks! That is just crazy talk!! My twins will be 2 next month! It goes so fast so enjoy them!! Stopping by from ICLW! (#52)

Leave a Reply

