Earning my Stripes

Imagine two posts in two days.  Yes I am back in that guilty place where I feel so bad for not blogging for so long.  And that place where I am always so amazed that I still have so many readers even after not blogging for so long.

I cannot believe that this belly still has 12 weeks of growth to go.  I already can only just fit behind my steering wheel to drive (short legs and arms combined with the belly have my belly almost brushing the steering wheel), so I guess I am going to be house bound sooner than I thought.

Well it had to happen and it has.  I have strecth marks winding their way below my belly.  The great thing is I can’t really see them (on the under part) unless I look in a mirror and normally I don’t look in a mirror much, except that I am so amazed by this belly, that I do find myself staring in the mirror rather more than is normal for me.

Well truth be told I would never have seen the stetch marks if not for a photo.  I had noticed one very faint line a few weeks ago, but really very faint, not worth thinking about.  Then in bed the other night Chris was staring at the belly and decided to take a photo.  I went to look at it and there clear as anything were the stretch marks!

Shock – horror!

Chris just said, “Well you have earned your stripes as a twin Mommy.”  How cool is that!

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Twins and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Earning my Stripes

  1. Cam says:

    You have SO earned your stripes hun!!! And I am SO impressed at another blog post – yah! Keep them coming xxx See you soon for tea and cheesecake 😉

  2. Aralia says:

    You should clone Chris and keep a spare. That was so sweet of him.

    And in that vein congrats on earning your stripes.

    I have missed your blog updates. Glad to hear you 4 are all well. I also freak out if the boys don’t move around enough and was in pre-panic yesterday but thankkfully the boys decide to be very busy yesterday evening and put my mind at ease.

  3. JulieJ says:

    Love it! Great perspective!

  4. Maryna says:

    Ai, sooo very sorry about yesterday’s scare! Pregnancy is sooo nerve-wracking – and it must be at least twice as bad with twins.

    I’m sometimes terrified to think how much I love my little girl – who is such a small, fragile little human. It seems like an awful risk if you love anything so much that losing that would completely rip out your heart.

    Hehe, I’m now trying to imagine how much stress your twins are likely to bring you in the next, say, 18 or 30 years, and beyond! Frankly, my thoughts don’t look good.. :p I bet they’re going to help you earn some grey hair along with those fab pregnancy ‘stripes’! Along with all the joy, love and giggles, of course.

  5. teejay says:

    You have definitely earned those “stripes”! 🙂 And that is a great way of looking at it. So glad things are continuing to go well for you.

  6. darylfaure says:

    Yep those are well earned stripes!

  7. samcy says:

    I like that analogy… how can he describe it if the stretch marks ended up on someone’s butt? Just for interest sake of course 😉

    xxx

  8. Foxy says:

    Earning your stripes! I love it – LOVE that way of thinking! I keep watching for my own stretch marks and expect that they will pop up on my boobs before anywhere else. It is crazy how much they have grown already!

    We just had our 25 week appt and I can barely believe that we are so far along! So exciting!

  9. Mrs. Gamgee says:

    I love love love this perspective. It makes me feel better about the new ones that were added to my collection last year.

    ICLW #20

  10. Lesley says:

    The babies will make the collateral damage to the body more than worth it 🙂 Please post pic?

  11. Kristin says:

    Congrats on your twin pregnancy.

    BTW, did you know you can buy pedal extenders through some auto stores. They would let you move your seat back and still reach the pedals.

    ICLW #19

  12. tasivfer says:

    Haha – Chris puts it so well!! I’m actually proud of what’s left of my tummy. I can’t believe it grew my darling Sparky – I can’t believe he’s out and I’m not likely to feel the wonder of my child wiggling around in there. I’m proud my body finally did what it should – with a lot of assistance, yes, but it did do it. So be proud of those stripes! Gosh, it would be freakish if you didn’t get any!!

Leave a Reply

