Signed off Work

It’s been quite a busy week around here, well at least it feels that way.  Wednesday night was our first ante-natal class, but more about that another time.  Thursday morning was our OB appointment, another chance to glance at our babies and get the reassurance that all is really still well.

To start off I ended up in a bit of a road rage incident in the parking lot outside the OB, and I said to Chris straight away, well that won’t be good for my blood pressure.  Anyway as usual we had over half an hour wait before we actually got in to see the doc.  We had the usual brief chat, everything fine? yes!  Then he took my blood pressure… not good!  I think the first reading was about 146/90 ish.  He said no problem let’s do the scan, see the babies and then check the blood pressure again.

Babies getting so big that it is almost impossible to really see anything now.  He struggled to get their measurements as their little bodies are so close together, but both are measuring over 1.1kgs, so well ahead still.  He also commented on how much fluid they both still have, so that is fabulous.  He didn;t check my cervix again, which I was a little surprised at, but he said as it was brilliant last time, not necessary?

Once we knew all was well he took my blood pressure again, this time 150/92.  Not good.  The doc did not seem at all overly worried, but did sign me off with immediate effect and say, back in two weeks to check.  For those that might be inclined to double check my doc, there was NO protein in my urine, everything else is 100% clear and he said that if I was developing pre-eclempsia the babies would be small and ours are in fact the opposite.  My normal (pre-pregnancy blood pressure is normally on the lower side (around 115/70), but siince pregnancy has been more around 130/80, which is still fine, until yesterday.

I have had a rough week at work, too much pressure to get things handed over, the silly buggers haven’t actually got the person who is supposed to be covering me to start yet and all in all I am fairly certain that work is exactly what has sent my blood pressure up.   I will have a few bits and pieces of work which I will be finishing from home, but keeping it in perspective and when I can be bothered.

I had a very restful day yesterday, a nap before lunch, lots of time with my feet up and yet productive at the same time.  I plan everyday to be a little like that, some productivity combined with plenty of rest and relaxation.  In addition I am borrowing my SIL’s blood pressure monitor so I can keep an eye on things.

So brilliantly exciting that I can now simply concentrate on brewing these babies and preparing for their arrival.  It’s just possible you might hear from me more often as well now that I don’t have work to keep me away.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Twins and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Signed off Work

  1. Good to hear from you and that the little ones are doing well. I am so glad you are now done with work: it is their problem to find a replacement, not yours.
    Sending hugs!

  2. Sweets says:

    Sorry to hear about the BP. Glas to hear all else is going well though, and that you are now off work! Relax and take care 🙂 Hope to see you again soon.

  3. Sharon says:

    Hopefully now that the stress of work is behind you your BP will normalize a bit!
    Exciting times ahead…….

  4. Cam says:

    Naughty work stressing twin mommy out!!!! You just relax and rest and hope the BP stabilises…you gotta cook those babas some more see! No more stressing!

  5. tasivfer says:

    HOORAY!! And take my advice: do NOT be tempted to do any renovations! 😉 It must be wonderful to be able to concentrate on making bubs instead of having work stress. I hope the blood pressure settles down.

    Oh – and I forgot to mention in my list of stuff the other day on twitter. This isn’t a hospital thing; it’s in case you’re going to breastfeed. If you are, get some not-too-tight but slightly supportive things to wear to bed, like breastfeeding tank tops or something. When you have large breasts to begin with, the extra weight of breast milk can really make things uncomfortable at night. Just a little support helps!

  6. cstelle says:

    Take it slowly twin-mommy!!! they getting big now!!

  7. Yvonne says:

    Hi Juanita!
    Enjoy the R&R and take good care of the babas!
    Yvonne

  8. Sarah says:

    I am glad to hear you and the babies are good!!

    Rest up, treat yourself to a pedicure, maybe go for Iron Commenter Status!!

    Happy ICLW
    #75

  9. Foxypopcorn says:

    Your doc sounds really nice, I’m glad that he didn’t stress you out! I was thinking as I read your post that a home bp monitor might not be a bad idea. My Bestie had to monitor her BP during her pregnancy and the home BP monitor was something of a party trick that we all tried whenever we visited. Even if yours stays high or becomes a problem, there are so many good medications to help control it until your babies are ready to meet you.

    Enjoy this special time!

  10. Annissa says:

    Oooooooh yay on the babies!! Super exciting!! Sounds like everything (other then maybe work) is going well!! 😀

  11. Annissa says:

    PS Happy ICLW from # 86 ❤

  12. samcy says:

    So glad to hear that all is well with the little ones and that you’re officially at home until they arrive – take this time to just chill and rest as much as you can.

    Good to hear you’re watching that BP 🙂 sure it was just all work and ass hole related!

    xxx

Leave a Reply

