Keeping Occupied

So you thought you might hear from me a little more once I was not working, guess that didn’t work out did it?  I have been keeping busy, well not really busy so much as occupied.

I have still been doing bits of work from home, but taking it easy and only replying to emails when I can be bothered.  Having said that in the last 5 working days (of which I was only contracted to work 3 days) I have worked two days.  But never fear all the rest and relaxation in between has clearly been doing its job as the blood pressure is right down, to my pre-pregnancy lowish levels.  So pleased.  Also I seem to have ankles back and I feel better.

I am becoming a professional ‘lunch doer’ as well.  You know the kind… ‘let’s do lunch sometime’.   Monday it was with a friend who has recently got her BFP.  Yesterday with my twin-mommy-to-be, which is always so much fun as we compare our symptoms and dreams and latest purchases.  Of course she is ridiculously organised which got my knicklers in a bit of a twist.  And next week will be with one of the ladies in my ante-natal class.

Just have to put in an aside about the ante-natal class lady.  She only realised she was pregnant when she was 20 weeks pregnant because she wondered where the bo.obs had come from?!?  Imagine?  To be fair she had irregular periods, but seriously.  In fact it is quite nice meeting people who are not infertiles or recovering infertiles and realising that there is a world outside of fertility treatments and medical miracle babies.  A bit of a fresh perspective and they are nowhere near as neurotic as we are (well I am anyway).  So at our first class the teacher says normal gestation is anywhere between 38-42 weeks and this woman’s face get’s all shocked and she sayd ’42 Weeks’ like it is forever.  My Chris just couldn’t resist and says to her “and this from the woman who missed the first 20!”

In between this I have a list of things that I want to get done before the babes arrive.  Some need to be done to make room for the babies stuff and some would just really be nice to have sorted.  But I am trying to make myself do ONE productive thing on my list each day. Yes some are very minor tasks, yesterday’s was to register for the baby club at the hospital we will be having the twins at and to book a table at a restaurant for dinner with two other pregnant couples next week.  Not major jobs really are they?  But I did also throw in stopping to buy breast pads on my way home.

Disappointingly the work and working at rest and relaxation has meant I have not made any progress on my craft projects I had set myself for maternity leave, but I have started knitting a blanket!  Only I noticed that I have dropped a stitch (or two?) and it now has a hole in it?  Guess I’m not cut out for knitting, but hoping it can be fixed.

Anyway sorry for the nowhere post, guess the not-working brain is already crumbling.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Twins and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Keeping Occupied

  1. Looks like you are having a good time :0

  2. Sharon says:

    It’s true what you say, we get so wrapped up in the infertility community that sometimes we forget what it must be like to be “normal” when it comes to these things. Ava’s BBM didn’t find out she was pregnant till 25 weeks. She also had irregular cycles, with maybe one or two periods a year and she just thought she had a hernia! When she went to the Dr he was like….er… no dear, the hernia is in fact a baby!

  3. Sweets says:

    I remember when I was on maternity leave I became one of those “lunch ladies”, sometimes it was coffee and cake, but whatever it turned out being it was a relief to get out (and also into a cooler air conditioned venue during that summer….).

    How are the classes going? I never attended any – We had decided not to because I was going to have to have a ceaser in any case and I thought (might be very wrong here) that it is probably more useful and informative if you are planning on natural birth.

Leave a Reply

