Essentials Time

I posted the other day about a great lunch I had with my fellow twin preggie mom and how organised she was and how it freaked me out a little.  My friend has been admitted into hospital at 29 weeks with pre-eclampsia and has been told her babies could come anytime but she is unlikely to go another 4 weeks.

I have to admit to crying huge tears for her.  I can only imagine how terrified she is.

I just keep thinking how it is just as well that she has been so organised!  And it has given me the kick up the jack to get organised.  I DO NOT CARE about what I may or may not get at my Baby-Shower anymore.  My baby shower is not for another 4 weeks.  I will not wait that long to get the essentials.  So this weekend we pack the bag and we do all the necessary shopping to ensure I have ALL the essentials so that if these babies make an early appearance we have the basics covered.

So any tips on what the essentials should be, please let me know.  And I mean essentials, not all the nice to have stuff, I mean the stuff my babies will HAVE to have during the first month of their lives.

And please spare a thought for my friend and her babies.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Twins and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Essentials Time

  1. Heather says:

    Oh I hope your friend will be ok. Thinking of her.
    Sorry I can’t help with the essentials part since I haven’t had a baby (yet!) But have fun shopping. 🙂

  2. cstellelle says:

    I think its batter to start off getting everything in place…twins are a strange pair, very unpreditable!! If you have you babies,I think you will be sorted out. after all thats all we want. Good luck with the packing!!

  3. darylfaure says:

    The good news is they really don’t need a lot initially. Let me think now – surgical spirits for the cord, bum cream, shampoo/soap, cotton wool to clean their little eyes (get the cotton wool square pads), some baby grows and vests (the Edgars cross over vests are really the best and easiest for a newborn. Nappies and receiving blankets and dummies if you intend using them. Stock up on facecloths as well, useful for cleaning bums that are really messy.

  4. Aralia says:

    I have a list of items in an excel spreadsheet with nice to have vs essentials. PM me on the forum and i’ll email it to you.

  5. Coco says:

    Hi, Daryl got it covered, the only items I will add are, bottles and teets, prem nappies (hopefully this will not be necessary but you do get them at Baby City and Emma used prem nappies for three months) and cholic drops for winds. The hospital has Milton to sterilize the bottles, but give them a call and ask whether you should bring your own sterelizing things. Oh before I forget, it is so logical but I had a very blond moment, open your breast pump, bottles, teets and sterelizing unit and read the instructions, they require sterelization before you can use them. I sat at 5 one morning, wanting to express and realize I can not start (had the calming music on etc) as I had to go and sterelize everything first! (If C has to give birth early get her prem nappies asap and order prem teets – she will not need it immediately as they will tube feed the twins but they will start teaching them to suck as soon as they can – Baby City only get prem teets and prem dummies on order)

  6. samcy says:

    Like Daryl said initially you won’t need much, and she covered most of the essentials…

    Our hospital supplied everything we needed for Kade except for the surgical spirits – we got a bag that had nappies, baby “soap”, bum cream etc in it and his baby grows and blankies were hospital ones… Check what your hospital will supply before you go out and buy stax, our hospital supply bag lasted us a good 3 weeks on the soap, cream etc side, we only had to use our own nappies and clothes etc when we got home…

    If I think of anything else out of the ordinary that has not been mentioned, I’ll bbm you.

    xxx

  7. Gwen says:

    The hospital supplied all the toiletries we needed, plus the first pack of nappies. Sleeveless vests (in warm months) and babygros (plain towelling ones are fine, best actually, because you need lots of cheap ones) are all the clothes you need to start with, don’t faff about with socks and beanies and such in summer. If the babies come very early none of the clothes will fit anyway, so use the hospital’s clothes to start with. You can use the hospital’s blankets too, but you may as well get your own as you will use them eventually – a couple of cellular blankets each plus lots of receiving blankets. You can rent a breast pump in hospital (and it’s probably the best one for you to use). When you take them home you will need somewhere for them to sleep (cot, mattress, fitted sheets), a padded surface to change them (and a few towelling nappies or other easy to wash cloths or blankets to cover the changing surface) and car seats. You may also need bottles and teats and sterilising equipment, but if push comes to shove you can boil your bottles.

Leave a Reply

