Thank You for this Day

37 WEEKS!

I have to admit that I never thought we would make it to 37 weeks with our babies on the inside still.  Especially after the really hard days last week, where even crying didn’t really help to alleviate the discomfort and frustration I was feeling.  As of today our babies are full terms for twins!  They won’t need their milestones to be measured by adjusted age.  I am so grateful.

Well a week ago I really never thought I would make another week.  Pregnancy is not for sissies and twin pregnancy is really tough.  I have spent too much of the last week enduring.  Just enduring the pain, enduring the discomfort and feeling terrible because all I wanted was these babies on the outside.  There has been no gradual build up of excitement as we count down the days to the c-sec, just a slow building of relief that the end is in sight.  Feeling this way has made me so sad, the chances are good this is the only pregnancy I will ever have and I have been wishing it away.  There has been no real enjoyment of the little lives still wriggling around inside for the last week or so.

While the meds have certainly helped, I think the discomfort has been growing too and the last two days have been really tough again.  Poor Chris comes home to a sad and desperate wife who cries and is totally pathetic.  Thank heavens for the drugs or who knows how I would have been.

And then this morning dawns.  37 weeks!  And some of the pains are lessened, some of the discomfort seems to have eased and the frustration seems less too.  This morning I have smiled at the little kicks and wriggles again, this morning I caught myself singing to my precious babies.  Today I am so greatful for the journey that has led us to this place and so thrilled that we have made it to full term and that my little babies are still letting me know that they are there and getting bigger and stronger.  Today is a good day.

Only three more days and we will finally hold our babies in our arms.  Only three more days and I will finally be able to kiss their sweet little heads.  Three more days and we will hear their cries and change their bums and feed them and hold them and rock them and they will hear our voices (not mumbled through amiotic fluid) and smell us and feel us (not just poking at them).

Chances are when you next hear from me I will no longer be a ‘Mommy-in-Waiting’, I will actually be a Mommy with babes in her arms.  Guess I may need to rethink my blog.

So today I cherish being pregnant, I treasure these last few days where my children remain closer to me than they will ever be again in their lives.  I can keep them on the inside and protect them and nurture them and finally start getting excited for their arrival.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Pregnancy, Twins and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Thank You for this Day

  1. Crazytwinmomma says:

    So glad you made it through! My twins were born at 37 weeks 3 days as well. Good luck with delivery and feel free to hit me up with questions once they are on the outside 🙂

  2. Tam says:

    Such a lovely post, gave me goosies!

    I can not wait for you to hold your precious babes but I love that you are cherishing your last few days with them in your belly.

    Well done honey, enjoy your last few nights as just th two of you. Can not wait to “meet” your bubs.

    Much love Xxx

  3. I hope that time wil erase the pain you endured in this pregnancy and that you will mostly remember the beautiful times !!
    As I wrote on your FC post, So proud of you, C and both your team work and wishing you a Magic Monday as you meet your babes …. !

  4. Julie Anita says:

    I’m so glad to read this because I’m 36w4d with twins, and someone else gets it, and I feel a little selfish for having been trying all the non-medication tricks to evict them (raspberries, spicy food, bouncing on an exercise ball, straight-up desperate prayer, etc) but really, I’m glad they’ve taken the time they need. We have 11 more days until our scheduled c-section but who knows how long until they ACTUALLY show up. I felt better reading this. ❤

  5. Aralia says:

    Amen sister! Twin pregnancies are hard. 10 sleeps until baby day for me and I am where you were a week ago. The “placid as a Hindu cow” phase is long gone. Now it is just sore, tired and desperate.

    3 days until you meet your babies! What a miracle!

  6. Magic Mama says:

    So. Unbelievably. Exciting. 🙂

  7. Foxypopcorn says:

    What an incredible journey you’ve taken to finally arrive at this place. It’s been my honor and pleasure to travel alongside you this past year and a half. I hope that you are able to enjoy every minute of these final few days of pregnancy, and that the arrival of your babies is every bit as wonderful as you’ve dreamt it to be. So much love to you and Chris.

  8. Heather says:

    Congratulations, you are nearly there!!!!

  9. Cam says:

    Dont feel bad about a thing hun – everything is exactly as it is supposed to be!!! You would be alone if not feeling pretty desperate by now…even singelton pregnancies have had it by now lol! I am beyond happy for you xxxxx

  10. Sam says:

    You have done an amazing job of growing and protecting those babies Nita. Now it’s time for them to come to your arms. I cannot wait to hear that they are safe in the outside world and that you and Chris are kissing, loving and holding them.

    Much love to you all!

    xxx

  11. Emily Erin says:

    Congratulations on giving your babies the best possible start to life and much joy that you will meet them very soon! Can’t wait to see pictures!

  12. I guess by now, they are here! Congrats on making it this far and enjoy them!

  13. Emily Erin says:

    Hoping that soon there will be pictures when I stop back by… I hope that you are blissfully enjoying the sleepless nights and diaper changes!

Leave a Reply

