Hope Babies Have Arrived

Sorry it has taken me so long to get around to updating you on the safe arrival of our prefect little medical miracles.  Pudding and Sausage (3.26 and 3.14kgs) were born on Monday, 7 November 2011 at 13.57 and 13.58 via general anaesthetic c-section.

Our perfect little miracles

The birth experience was in no way what I had hoped for and I went under in flooods of tears and totally terrified that I would never wake up to see me angels, but once I lay my eyes on them and held them against my skin it turned out that the way you want your babies to enter the world matters not one iota, all that matters is that they are there, safe and sound and healthy – and they are.

The anaesthesiologist could not get into my spine to do the spinal block due to all the swelling and eventually had to give up for fear of doing nerve damage hence the general anaesthetic.  Apparently the c-sec was not straight forward and the doctor was glad in the end that I had been knocked out.

I had so many hopes for how the birth experience would be and despite these babies being here and perfect I am still finding myself sad when I think about our birth experience.  I feel I missed so very much on their arrival, but my awesome man has filled me on over the weeks.  Like the little detail where the paediatrician said to him, “Come Daddy, let’s count, 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 fingers, 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 toes” on each of our perfect little miracles.  And how I apparently said “Hello Angels” when I was finally introduced to them in my drug induced haze.

I woke up in recovery in absolute agony and all I could think was that I had to stop shivering so I could get to my children.  It is sad to me that my first post birth memory is shivering uncontrollably with pain and in shock from the surgery and yet when they were put on my chest at last, everything was right with the world.  It was as though a veil was laid around me and our precious babies and protected us from the rest of the world.  I actually couldn’t see beyond a metre and the only focus I had was right against my breasts.  I hope that veil stays there always keeping us together and them safe close to my heart.

Heaven is where your heart is and mine is in these babies

Sasage and Pudding are both absolute perfection, very pretty babies (sorry I know I am biased, but they are), they needed no special care at all and went straight from the theatre to the nursery where their Daddy did Kangaroo Care with them skin on skin for over an hour and a half until I was out of recovery.

Daddy giving them all his love

There is still so much to say about the first few monites / hours and days, about the feelings, the overwhelming joy and fear and the intensity of emotion at every glance at them, every feel of their soft skin, every little squeel or squeak and the smell of them.  I hope to get to blog about it all, before these feelings blurr and fade with the passage of time and the new experiences that every day brings.

We had a fairly rough first week, the twins both had low blood sugar, then developed jaundice and with me having a breathing issue (which I think were panic attacks) and high blood pressure spikes.  We left the hospital on the Thursday only to be readmitted due to their jaundice on the Friday, then home again on the Saturday.  Since being home again things have started to settle into a routine (the absolute secret to even beginning to cope with twins) and I am just in absolute awe at being a Mommy at Last!

I want to thank you all once again for your love and support along this road and to let you all know my perfect moment has begun!

Perfection

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Hope Babies Have Arrived

  1. Megs says:

    They are just divine. Congratulations!!!

  2. Marion says:

    Wow! Your babies are gorgeous! I love all your pictures and I know it’s sad that you missed out on a bit right at the beginning, but at least daddy was there for them with Kangaroo care!

    I am still amazed at the whole miracle of these babies – from thinking that you will never have your DH’s biological kids to these beautiful little ones – Wow! Enjoy them and may your little family be blessed abundantly!

  3. kk says:

    Congratulations! They are lovely. Sounds like things have been eventful right off the bat. I hope you all settle into a (no doubt hectic) flow here soon.

  4. darylfaure says:

    They are beautiful and you are truly blessed. Enjoy every moment, even the sleep deprived crazy ones, as they go past so so fast. As the mom of a 2.5 year old, I can tell you that the journey you have just begun just gets better and better, and every time you think it couldn’t be more perfect, it is.

  5. Heather says:

    Congratulations!!! They are beautiful! I know having a general anesthetic must have been rough, but at least your precious babies came out ok. Love the pic of dad with them.
    I wish you all the best and keep posting (when you have a moment!)

  6. Jem says:

    Welcome to the world, Pudding and Sausage! Just glad you and the babies are okay and you and dad were able to bond with them.

  7. Emily Erin says:

    Your darling babies are beautiful! I am sorry that the birth wasn’t all you wished it would be, but I am so very happy that you’ve arrived at your Happily Ever After!

  8. Beautiful precious little babies!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ Enjoy your perfect moments!

  9. Mash says:

    They are exquisitely beautiful, in fact just the kind of carrot in front of the donkey’s nose that I need right now. Well done, well, well done and congratulations!

  10. Mash says:

    PS – two babies at almost 3.5 kg each, no wonder you were uncomfortable!

  11. Foxypopcorn says:

    Perfection! says it all!

    I am sorry that the experience was so different than what you’d hoped it would be. I hope that you feel like it is okay to grieve that loss. It doesn’t mean that you are not grateful for the safe arrival of your sweet babies, but it was and will always be a significant event in your life.

    I can’t tell you how much I LOVE the picture of daddy holding his little ones on his chest. It seriously brings tears to my eyes it is so sweet.

    Congratulations! a million times!
    Enjoy this special time as a new family.
    and post more pictures!
    xoxo

  12. Your babies are gorgeous !! Well-done J&C!
    I am sorry your birth storry is not the one you had hoped for, but as you say in the end it does not matter soo much and, in a way, it is great, that even in a complete “knocked off” state, your Love for your LOs was already so deeply rooted that you asked for them, without even remembering . ….
    I wanted to thank you for sharing your story in your blogs and tell you how it was such a privilege to follow yours and C’s journey to those perfect little miracles … first it was C’s blog, glimpses on Sausage and Pudding still being in another “world” and C battling with shots like Superman, then it was your blog on Sausage and Pudding being in your tummy and you holding up like a hero, Now I so hope you will update us on the growth of your two miracles for I am hooked 😉 !!
    wishing you lots of beautiful moments as a familly of 4 (and lots of strength to push through the difficult moments too),
    Sophie

  13. cathynel says:

    Oh congratulations and they are ADORABLE! Well done for enduring all those weeks with a twin pregnancy and for bringing such beautifully healthy babies into the world 🙂 so very very very happy for you xxx

  14. Cam says:

    Oh welcome little gorgeous babies…may your angels watch over you always…love to you four as you start this magical new journey as a family xxxxx

  15. What beautiful babies- Congratulations! Enjoy each and every moment with your 2 sweet babies. I wish you the very best in this new chapter of life 🙂

  16. Christina says:

    Congratulations on the safe arrival of you beautiful babies! It’s been such a joy to follow you on this journey, and now to see you start a new one. It fills me with so much hope.

  17. Rebecca says:

    Congratulations on the birth of your well-awaited little ones (they’re both such great sizes… well done! :D). May you all continue to enjoy life together – first Christmas as a family etc, the fun continues! 🙂

  18. Huge congratulations – you did so extremely well! (one of the few pairs of twins I know about that were bigger at birth than mine!). And they are extremely beautiful.

  19. Sweets says:

    They are beautiful. Congratulations to you all again. It just gets better…

  20. Yvonne says:

    They are truly beautiful babies, and it’s not just you being biased :). Congratulations Juanita, and all the best for these first few weeks! Looking forward to hear how things are
    xxx

  21. Katherine says:

    You are a complete rock star. Missing out on the first bit couldn’t have been nice but to have 2 big, healthy babies is incredible. You did so very well and I’m so happy that they are here safe and sound.

  22. zygotta says:

    they are so adorable! CONGRATULATIONS!

  23. Pingback: The Lifting Cloud | Mommy-at-Last

Leave a Reply

