Magic Moments

One month old today! WOW! And time to reflect on a month full of Magic Moments.

Starting with the good news that I have managed to get both munchkins back on the boob! Monday I just decided that I want to divorce my pump and the only way was if I got them back on the boob. So I put Sausage to the boob and he latched! It took a bit of convincing and using a trick from a friend’s mom of holding his jaw closed with the nipple in his mouth until he sucked properly, but we got there. Then next feed we tried Pudding and with even more convincing she latched too! So I have been alternating feeds on the boob and while one baby suckles with me the other gets bottle. I have not divorced my pump but am pumping after their feeds to empty the breast and try to drive production and also try to ensure they drink as much breast milk as possible. The magic of having my little wrigglers on the breast with their little hands touching my skin is so awesome. It feels like we have such special time together.

Yesterday was weigh-in day for the twins and they are growing like little weeds. It seems they may be gaining weight a bit too fast and I am meant to try to limit their intake a little, but I am convinced they are just now weighing what they would have if they had been full term singletons and taking it as a sign that they are healthy. It is a long way from that scary first week where they were loosing weight too fast and not eating and so I simply refuse to be stressed by this at all. It is magic to know my babies are thriving. And I know someone is going to ask so their weights are Pudding at birth 3.26kgs and now 4.14kgs, Sausage at birth 3.14 and now 3.88. Oh and just for the record – I have lost ALL my pregnancy weight having lost 30kgs since the birth – if that isn’t magic then I don’t know what is?

My favourite Magic Moments happen at the weekends in the mornings when we have family snuggle time in bed! So precious to have all of us together and Daddy sharing in the making of special memories. If my laptop were working (yes still no time to sort it out) I would post gorgeous photos of Chris sleeping with both our gorgeous babes asleep in his arms. Pudding obviously agrees that weekend snuggles are magic because she gave her Daddy a huge grin on Sunday morning which of course made for yet another magic moment. Yes I managed to get a view of her beautiful smile, but no photo.

Chris and I are somehow managing to keep our sense of humour intact through the chaos and sleeplessness and have had some seriously good giggles, like when I made up new lyrics to an old favourite lullaby “hush little baby don’t say a word, Pappa’s gonna buy you a mocking bird. If that mocking bird don’t sing, Pappa’s gonna shoot it in its ring!” Still laughing at that one. Or when I gave Chris a bottle to get Pudding to suck to get rid of her hiccups but I had forgotten to put the teat on properly and she ended up covered in milk, well it cured the hiccups. Or when Pudding lost her dummy and wriggled over to Sausage with her mouth searching for the dummy, until she found his nose and had a good suck on it. Yes we got that on video! Or when Chris ended up taking a milky puke shower when both crying babes ended up sicking up on him at the same time. It’s tough but we are staying sane and hanging in there together.

Last night was a new kind of magic moment, where we got 8 hours sleep! No I don’t have the most sleepy babies in the world, I finally gave in to another one of those things I said I wouldn’t do and we got in a night nurse so we could get some sleep and regain some sanity. All I can say is if you are a twin parent and can possibly afford it, get a night nurse once in a while. You are a better parent when you have had some rest yourself and I can attest to that by the fact that today I feel like I could conquer the world. Okay, I have to admit I cried like a baby when I heard Sausage crying for his food at 9pm, I felt like I had abandoned them, but he went quiet within seconds and we never heard from them again.

There are those moments (more frequent than you would think considering our sleep deprived state) where I just have to grin or stare in awe at these cute little guys, with their sweet sleeping faces or funny grimaces and squirms, especially Sausage who has such an expressive little face. They are amazing, they completely astound me with their awesomeness! I find myself regularly staring at them in wonder. And then the breath taking moments when I say something about ‘my daughter’ or ‘my son’ and I realise I am really and truely a Mommy At Last!!!

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Infertility. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Magic Moments

  1. Heather says:

    Enjoy your precious moments!

  2. Cam says:

    Every moment is a treasure…even when you think you are losing the plot lol!

  3. Sian says:

    Those moments are the best!

  4. Adorable! It made me smile ❤

  5. OhI fully agree with everything! And well done – those magic moments will stay forever

  6. soonafamily says:

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while but haven’t been brave enough to comment until now. I just wanted to say congratulations to you and your family! My DH has the same condition, and I’ve read just about every post you’ve written on the subject. Now that your beautiful babies are home and all are doing well, you’ve given me so much hope that one day we’ll have our own miracle babies. So thank you! And enjoy every magic moment. There are so many more to come!

  7. Rebecca says:

    Oh I love little hands on my skin while I feed a baby. Such a special time. ❤

  8. Pingback: More Magic Moments | Mommy-at-Last

Leave a Reply

