Half a Mom

My poor baby Boy is in hospital.  He got a fever on Thursday which we managed to bring down very quickly just with some panado (paracetemol) but with no other symptoms.  The fever nearly devastated me, I fell to pieces crying and was so scared.  Silly I know but the first time either of them has really been sick in any way and it just seemed to bring out all my worst fears.  I liaised with our paediatrician, yes I am paranoid enough to have called the doc at the first sign of illness, and he said to just monitor him but if he was okay once the fever was down, just keep an eye on him.

Friday he was fine and I thought a 24 hour bug of some sort and thought how lucky we were to get off so lightly.

Saturday the fevers were back, again I liaised with the paed after the fever came back the second time and he suggested neurofen syrup (ibuprofen) and again to see how his behaviour was once the fever was down.  Sausage was fine once the fever dropped, but every four hours the fever was back and during Saturday night went up to 40C.  Sunday the paed said we should come in and see him, but he still couldn’t find anything wrong, no swollen tonsils, no red throat, clear ears, clear lungs, fast heartbeat indicating fighting some infection, but nothing we could see.  It is so scary knowing something is wrong, but not what.  The paed sent him for blood tests and did a urine sample and there came the answers.

Little Sausage has a severe urinary tract infection.  Blood and puss in his urine and extremely high platelet count.  Poor little Sausage must have been feeling so yucky for four days already before we could figure out what was wrong.  Because of the high infection level the doc admitted him to hospital and on anti-biotics.  What a crazy day it was.  Chris, Sausage, Pudding and I here at the hospital trying to figure things out. With Chris heading home gathering what we need and then us maximising our time together as a family in Sausage’s room, before Daddy took Pudding home leaving Sausage and I in the hospital.

Sausage had a reasonable night, fever under control, but with lots of moaning in his sleep with what must be pain.  Doc says UTI is very sore.  Then this morning some blood in his poo.  So back to worrying whether this is related or something else. We are shortly going for an ultrasound to see if there is any blockage anywhere in the renal system that might have caused the infection as apparently these infections are very rare in boys.  Then hopefully we can chat to doc to find out what is going on, what the prognosis is and what the plan of action to treat.  Fingers crossed it is nothing serious.

Last night for me was the weirdest night ever.  Being parted from my baby girl was so hard, I cried like a baby when Chris left with her, even though I know she is in good hands and at least not sick, but I feel like half a mom with only half my kids with me.  Chris felt a lot the same I think as he had Pudding sleep in the room with him so that neither of them had to sleep alone.  I hope we won’t be apart for long and that soon the Hope Babes will be reunited with each other and both their parents.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Twins and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Half a Mom

  1. Heather says:

    Shame that sounds truly awful and I hope he gets better soon. Awful for you too, but I’m glad you did phone the doc early and did all you could do. Here’s hoping your family can be reunited soon.

  2. darylfaure says:

    Oh man that must have been so hard! How did the ultrasound go? Any results? Hoping you are soon reunited as a family!

  3. Daryl says:

    That is rough. I hope your little one feels better soon!

  4. Cam says:

    Oh my word Nita that is so scary! Hope all okay and baby Jed comes home soon…sending you the biggest hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

