Update from the hospital

So here we are day four in the hospital with at least another two days before we can head home.  The little man’s CRP (infection level) count went up dramatically .  Normal is around 17,000, they normally admit at 50,000, on Sunday his levels were 72,000.  Later Sunday they had climbed to 77,000 and on Monday climbed further to 135,000!  Doc put him on a stronger antibiotic drip which he gets four times a day and it has done the trick as his count yesterday was right back down to 77,000 and we are still waiting on today’s count, but I can tell he is doing better.  We haven’t had any fevers since Monday afternoon either so things have definitely turned a corner.

So it has been investigations to find out why he has ended up with e urinary tract infection (UTI) which is very rare in boys.  So Monday he went for scans of the entire renal system which all came back looking good, no obvious problems.  Yesterday he had a urologist come and take a look at him and review his file and he can find no obvious problems either.  The radiologist said and the urologist repeated that the possible cause is a failure of the valves between the bladder and the kidneys which can cause an infection.  At the moment we are waiting for a culture report on his urine sample to confirm whether it definitely is a UTI and if it is the urologist wants to put a catheter in to check his valves, a very invasive procedure on such a little guy.  Poor Sausage!

This has been hell.  I know there are people who have been through worse and I know I need to concentrate on the fact that he is doing better, but instead I find myself totally overwhelmed by having a divided family.  I cannot put into words how much I miss Pudding.  I feel so guilty that she has been ‘abandoned’ by her Mommy and her Brother and don’t bother telling me I shouldn’t feel guilty – I know!  Last night when the doc said we would have to stay here until the end of his course of antibiotics on Friday at the earliest I just went to pieces.  I sobbed and sobbed at not being able to be a proper Mommy to both my precious babes.

Yesterday Chris managed to work from the hospital which gave me a chance to head home play with my girl, breastfeed her and get in some special cuddle time, before taking a nap and a shower and heading back to the hospital.  It refreshed me for a few hours to have that time with her, to smell her precious little girl smell and feel those tiny hands grip the hairs in the base of my neck!  Today my sister (who is my au pair) and I swopped places with her covering at the hospital for a few hours so I could get in time with Pudding again.  And again it has done my mood the world of good to get little girl time.

My sister has been awesome taking little videos and voice clips and photos of Pudding and sending them to me here in the hospital so I don’t have to miss her too much.  When I was home yesterday I showed Pudding pics of her brother on my phone and I am positive she stared at them as if to say “where are you?”.  Then today I showed Sausage her video and played him her voice clip and he also seemed very interested in the phone, more so than usual.  In fact he gave a little cry when he heard her voice.  I am sure they are missing each other so much.  They have been together from the moment of conception and never been apart for more than a couple of hours, so they must feel a little lost.  Poor Puding was even crying in her sleep on Monday and I am sure she was crying for her Mommy and Brother.

Sausage is doing great, this morning he woke up full of smiles and we even managed some great play time with is new friends Ronald and Puppy (presents from his Granny Chris and Aunty Les).  He has colour back in his cheeks and his eyes seem less sunken.  So I am feeling much better.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Twins and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Update from the hospital

  1. darylfaure says:

    Aai Nita – my heart breaks for you! I know it must be so incredibly tough to be away from your little girl, and see your little boy suffering. Sending you the biggest hug in the world.

  2. teejay says:

    I’m glad he’s doing better, that is definitely good news. I’m so sorry that your family is separated right now…I can tell from your writing how sad you are. Hang in there and hopefully he will continue to get better and everyone can be together very soon. Sending you (((hugs))).

  3. Cam says:

    Ag Nita that is so so hard!! You are being so brave considering being separated from your little girl…I can only pray you are all reunited soon…sending you hugest hugs love and strength xxxx

  4. Sweets says:

    Thinking of you!

    Glad to hear he is doing a little better. Hope you guys are able to all be together again on Friday.

    x

  5. Heather says:

    Hope he is home by now – sending you best wishes and hugs..

Leave a Reply

