The Pasta Shop

A block away from work there is a great little pasta shop.  They serve great pastas to take away and I can sometimes fool myself that the butternut ravioli they serve is almost a healthy lunch.  But this little shop means so much more than just a good lunch to me.

The other day at lunchtime I wandered across to the pasta shop and was flooded by memories of last year.  The last time I picked up lunch there I couldn’t have parmesan on my pasta as the smell brought out the worst of my morning sickness nausea and I couldn’t have chilli because that exacerbated my terrible pregnancy heartburn.  But as I approached the shop that day I was mostly flooded of memories of today a year ago when Chris and I sat down at a little table outside the shop and made a phone call.  A call to our clinic to get the results of our Beta test from our fourth IVF.  A call that would change our lives immeasurably.  We sat outside that shop and laughed and cried at the same time and got strange stares from people passing by.  Strangely one of the things I remembered most clearly was Chris going in to order us drinks and me saying if they didn’t have decaf coffee I wouldn’t have a coffee, because I was finally pregnant!

What a year it has been.  I am not sure I can adequately find the words to express how my life has changed.  But I will always have such strong memories of this day a year ago, the song I heard as I walked into work, the smell of coffee, the noise of traffic, the tear in my sister’s voice when we broke the news, the squeeze of my MIL when we told her, the overwhelming joy and disbelief that we had finally arrived.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in fertility Treatment, ivf, Pregnancy, Twins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Pasta Shop

  1. Daryl says:

    What a happy anniversary!

  2. tasivfer says:

    It’s wonderful that as well as all the places that trigger unhappy memories there can be others, such as this one, that trigger wonderful memories. There’s the street corner where I received the phone call saying I was pregnant with Blobby; there’s the place where I miscarried him. There’s the part of the ceiling at work I was looking at when I found out I was pregnant with Eskil. And slowly, slowly there are spots all over where I’ve taken him and am laying down happy memories of being an actual mum to a living boy!

  3. Kitty8218 says:

    Awe man…….. what an amazing day…. it makes me think of our ‘big day’ too….how incredibly life changing xxx

  4. What a feeling! Its so nice to have good memories replace the sad ones.

  5. Sam says:

    I love having these moments of relving the happiness… Wait until you start reliving the moments of their lives 😉

    xxx

Leave a Reply

