Food Glorious Food

I am loving feeding them solids and watching the  two of them experience new tastes and textures, their little expressive faces showing exactly what they think of each food.  We started solids a little over a week ago and I have done something unheard of for me, thrown the rule book away and gone with my instincts on how and what and how much to introduce.  It feels so good to trust myself on this one.  I  mean of course I have read all the books, well not all, but plenty of research went into the starting of solids because I feel it is so important to establish their relationship with food for the rest of their little lives in the right way.

Both Chris and I are very overweight and neither of us has a good relationship with food.  We are emotional eaters and lovers of comfort food and while I was brought up understanding healthy food, Chris was brought up on typical old style British stodge all too often.  A ‘normal’ braai (bbq) at his parents can often include meat, potatoes, sweet potatoes, mielies and garlic bread – yes all starchy carbs.  So I really want to get it right for my kids so they hopefully don’t spend their whole lives fighting weight issues and that healthy balanced eating is their normal.  Of course this is going to include some serious changes for Chris and I because I know we ultimately will be setting the example our kids will follow.

Anyway, so in the end I decided that I would start them on fruit sticking to just one new food per day and then building up to mixing and three meals a day.  I am keen to expose them to as many tastes, flavours and textures as possible so they (hopefully) don’t become fussy eaters.  So we started with peaches, then apples, pears, papaya, mango, melon, avo (which got us the funniest faces ever), and prunes.  Yesterday they ate plums in a feeding net which Sausage especially loved munching and sucking on.  During the week we introduced some rice cereal in with the fruit in the mornings.  Then Saturday they started veggies, butternut, sweet potatoes, carrots, today they get gem squash.

It is such a glorious adventure with them and has given me a whole new appreciation for fresh foods.  I have been cooking all their foods myself and my freezer is full of multi-coloured ice cubes of veggies and fruit.  I really hope I can keep it up, but I am not going to beat myself up if we have to resort to jar foods from time to time, because I am after all a working Mom of twins and I will not stress myself out, it is far more important that I am in a good space when spending time with my kids.  But still I am loving making their food and feel so on top of looking after my kids nutritional needs.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Twins and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food Glorious Food

  1. Having kids have really inspired us to eat healthier too. And if you mix a bit of olive oil into the avo it goes down a bit easier. My kids alll loved an avo and banana mix

  2. Sam says:

    Solids is an awesome journey to share with your babies – and like you say it teaches US to be better eaters cos we want to set good examples for our children.

    Enjoy the rest of the journey with food with the Hope babes!

    xxx

  3. I’m loving the solids journey. Yum! Yum!

Leave a Reply

