A Little Time Out

Every Friday night we go to my in-laws for a braai (bbq).  It’s a family tradition and gives us an opportunity to catch up with the family every week.  Unfortunately due to the twins awesome routine, they still don’t actually get much time with their Nan and Grandad as they go to sleep (normally) around 6.30.  But it does give them the chance to have a quick play with Nan and Grandad and we push bedtime a little later on these nights.  Almost every week my FIL says to us when we get ready to leave that we should just leave the Hope Babes sleeping where they are, but we have only taken them up on this once.

Anyway, last Friday we sneakily packed food for the Saturday when we packed for the visit in hopes the in-laws would suggest leaving the twins with them.  It all worked out brilliantly, they suggested leaving the twins and we did.  So Chris and I headed home minus the babes for a full night’s sleep, a lie in in the morning, an adult only breakfast at a little coffee shop and then to view some houses before we went to pick our precious babes up.

It felt so totally weird leaving the babes behind, but Saturday morning, just the two of us felt so special too.  It felt like we got to connect on a adult level and all the conversation wasn’t just about the kids.  We had a great breakfast without little wrigglers climbing all over us or trying to play with the knife or eat everything that goes into our mouths.  It was awesome.  A little time out for us was so appreciated.

Of course picking up the kids and the big smiles when we go there to pick them up was just as awesome.  I simply adore my kids and so enjoy spending time with them.  I especially love weekends when we get to be a family together, but this weekends time out was fabulous, a little recharge of the batteries.  A friend of mine says that time with the family allows her boy to fill his love bucket from other sources and I guess that’s just what the Hope Babes got, some loving from their grandparents.

Just as well really because poor Pudding came home clearly teething, miserable, drooling, crying, and trying to chew everything, including my chin and she has developed a little case of the snuffles, so Saturday and Sunday nights were interrupted by a moaning baby/ies.

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Twins. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Little Time Out

  1. Cam says:

    Oh how I wish we had grandparents!!!! Glad you guys had a lie in 😉 We also have snufflers and restless nights heaven help us! xx

  2. Sam says:

    Having some time off from the kids is not a luxury, its a necessity! Something I’ve learned myself recently. Glad you had such a nice time off with Chris.

    xx

  3. So wonderful that you can do this. We only moved to PE just before Ava was born but have made full use of my parents since arriving. The girls are so at home in their home and they are fortunately brilliant sleepers so I don’t ever feel bad about leaving them with my folks. I never had nearby grandparents growing up and so never had a close bond with either sets of grandparents whereas my kids just love spending time with my folks. We usually leave them for a few weekends every year, many Friday/Saturday nights and have done 1 overseas skiing trip of 10 days when Ava was 18 months and Zoe was 3,5. My parents just love having them as well as my elder brother and family live in Australia and my younger brother is in Cape Town but going to the USA for a year next year.

  4. Oh I wish we had grandparents like yours. Enjoy them – adult time is such a gift

  5. It really is great that you have this option. We have very willing granny and grampy and it is a life saver when needed. I do agree the house is soo quiet when Jayden is away though. And we can’t wait to get him back and see his smiling face.

  6. Grandparents are the best! I have yet to leave them overnight, but hopefully I will work of the courage soon- because a night w/out the kids does sound very relaxing!

Leave a Reply

