Building a Family Heirloom

I signed the Hope Babes up for the Disney Book Club.  You may remember my post on how some Children’s Books broke my heart during our infertility struggle.  I worte about my awesome Step-Mom “I told you of the beautiful email my step-mom sent me during our IVF cycle. The bit that really broke me was where she wrote: “I have all the children’s books a couple of crates full that are waiting to be read again. Each one has a memory for me, a memory of the little faces looking and absorbing and visualising the stories as they were being read to.”

It’s funny I just sat with tears in my eyes re-reading that post which was written shortly after our first failed IVF cycle.  The pain of that day still seems to real, how is that even possible, when my heart is so healed by the amazing little rays of light which live in my life.  How can that pain still seem so fresh?  I do think that a significant part of the tears at re-reading that post are tears of total relief that that is no longer our reality.

Well for my Baby Shower my amazing and fabulous Step-Mom got each of my family members to bring me some of those books.  Most special to me in that collection had always been the Disney Club collection she started for my brother and continued for my “other brother” and then my sister.  And now that beautiful collection of Disney stories sits on the twins book shelf and we have started reading them those lovely stories.

I love their faces as they absorb the words, look at the pictures and just stare in wonder especially at their Daddy’s funny voices and movements and pointing.

So when I got the email for the second or was it third time that the Disney Book Club is still going and continuing the same look and feel as they had nearly 30 years ago when this collection was started for my brother, I knew I simply had to…

I cannot wait for our first additions to the collection to arrive.  I am so excited to be continuing this family tradition.  And best of all I feel like we are continuing a heritage for all the kids in the years to come, my brother’s children (if he ever has any) and my sister’s children when her turn comes and maybe on for more generations to come.  These books will not be an heirloom worth millions, but in family memories, treasured shared stories and education for the little minds that hear these stories, nothing could be more valuable than these surely.

 

About MommyAtLast

Finally a Mommy to our Medical Miracle IVF Boy / Girl Twins who were born in November 2011. We overcame azoospermia using hormone therapy for my hubby to conceive our precious Hope Babes on our 4th IVF.
This entry was posted in Dreams, family, Infertility, TTC, Twins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Building a Family Heirloom

  1. I also keep on getting an e-mail from them and I was thinking of subscribing because J looooves books.

  2. Sam says:

    What an awesome legacy to be passing onto your Hope babes. I hope that by the time our children are old enough to have their own kids that books have not died and been replaced with technical e-books. To lose the paper versions would be a tragedy.

    xxx

  3. Your stepmom sound great. We adore books over here

  4. Daryl says:

    I love this idea! You’ll not only create some wonderful memories for you and your children, but you’ll instill in them a lifelong love of reading, which is so important.

  5. darylfaure says:

    We are busy reading all the Disney Classics to Dylan (again) at the moment. His favourite is Dumbo (he is crazy about elephants), and then Lion King. I love the fact that my boy loves books and stories so much, and hope he never outgrows it. My best outing with him is a trip to the library. I can’t wait to get home then and read him all the stories. There are some brilliant ones out there.

Leave a Reply

